The women's Ashes will retain the points-based format used in the current series when England travel to Australia in early 2014. There will be six points on offer for the winners of the sole Test match (or two for the draw), with two points for victory in each of the limited-overs matches.

The schedule and venues have also been announced, with the series beginning in Perth on January 10 with a four-day Test. That will be followed by three one-day internationals and three T20s, which will be played as double-headers with the England and Australia men.

The team with the most points from the seven matches will be awarded the Ashes. In the current series, England are 6-4 up, with three T20s still to play. The Test match was drawn and England won the ODI leg 2-1, thanks to a five-wicket victory on Sunday.

Schedule for 2014 women's Ashes

January 10-13, only Test - WACA, Perth
January 19, 1st ODI - MCG, Melbourne
January 23, 2nd ODI - MCG, Melbourne
January 26, 3rd ODI - Bellerive Oval, Hobart
January 29, 1st T20 - Bellerive Oval, Hobart
January 31, 2nd T20 - MCG, Melbourne
February 2, 3rd T20 - Stadium Australia, Sydney