Victoria batsman Marcus Stoinis, Queensland allrounder Michael Neser and New South Wales fast bowler Gurinder Sandhu have all been added to the Australia A squad to take on South Africa A in a pair of four-day matches in Townsville. Matthew Wade has also joined the group and will play as a batsman only, with Peter Nevill to keep wicket.

The four changes have been forced by the call-ups of James Faulkner and Ben Cutting for Australia's one-day tour of Zimbabwe, as well as the injuries to Chris Lynn (shoulder) and Josh Hazlewood (side strain), who were all originally chosen in the squad. Moises Henriques has been promoted to captain the side, with Faulkner having originally been named for the job.

Legspinner Cameron Boyce, who has been part of the Australia A squad for their four-day games against India A and the one-day quadrangular series that followed, will also stay on with the group as an extra player. The two four-day games against South Africa begin on August 7 and August 14 respectively.

Australia A squad Phillip Hughes, Marcus Stoinis, Tom Cooper, Callum Ferguson, Peter Forrest, Matthew Wade, Peter Nevill (wk), Moises Henriques (capt), Steve O'Keefe, Michael Neser, Jason Behrendorff, Chadd Sayers, Gurinder Sandhu, Cameron Boyce.