Rajasthan 28 for 6 (Alok 4-18, Monhanty 2-10) trail Odisha 151 (Sarangi 43, Choudhary 6-27, Pankaj 3-53) by 123 runs

Left-arm pacer Aniket Choudhary's career-best 6 for 27 dismissed Odisha for 151 but they struck back to reduce Rajasthan to 27 for 6 by stumps on the first day in Jaipur.

Seamer Alok Chandra Sahoo removed Manender Singh and Puneet Yadav inside eight overs and followed it with the strikes of Dishant Yagnik (0) and Ashok Menaria (0). Opener Vineet Saxena, however, survived till stumps, staying unbeaten on 11 off 43 balls.

Earlier, Choudhary had started the slide, getting the Odisha openers cheaply. He then undid Govinda Poddar for 13 before Anurag Sarangi mounted some fight, grafting 172 minutes for 43. His innings came to an end when Tanveer-ul-Haq had him caught by Saxena. Choudhary and Pankaj Singh then wrapped up the innings at 151.

Vidarbha 284 for 6 ( Fazal 126, Shanware 55, Harshal 2-41, Jayant 2-97) v Haryana

An opening stand of 116 and Faiz Fazal's 10th first-class century underpinned Vidarbha's solid start against Haryana in Nagpur. After having opted to bat, the hosts finished the day at 284 for 6.

Shanware scored 55 off 124 balls before he became Chaitanya Bishnoi's maiden victim. Fazal, though, carried on to make 126, aided by contributions from Wasim Jaffer (41) and Jitesh Sharma (30). Fazal was eventually dismissed off what turned out to be the last ball of the day.

Bengal 191 for 4 (Mondal 87, Chatterjee 65, Krishna 2-39) v Assam

Bengal made slow but assured progress, reaching 191 for 4, on the back of fifties from opener Sayan Mondal and the in-form Sudip Chatterjee. Krishna Das struck early to remove Abhimanyu Easwaran but Mondal and Chatterjee combined well and added 140 together. Both Mondal and Chatterjee fell lbw and Manoj Tiwary soon followed them before bad light curbed the day in Guwahati.

Karnataka 50 for 1 trail Maharashtra 212 (Bawne 87, Aravind 3-35) by 162 runs

Karnataka's seamers prospered in Pune, bowling Maharashtra out for 212 before the batsmen shaved 50 runs off the deficit. Having been inserted, Maharashtra began well with openers Swapnil Gugale and Sangram Atitkar putting on a 50-run opening stand. But the middle order and lower order failed to build on it to post a strong total, despite Ankit Bawne's 87. S Aravind picked up three wickets while Vinay Kumar, HS Sharath, and Abhimanyu Mithun finished with two each.

Bawne hit eight fours and five sixes but was left to do too much on his own as Maharashtra were dismissed for 212. In response, Karnataka lost R Samarth for 20, but Mayank Agarwal (25*) and Robin Uthappa (1*) took their side to stumps.