Records for FC Matches

Best figures in an innings
H Verity10-10 Yorkshire v Nottinghamshire Leeds1932
G Geary10-18 Leicestershire v Glamorgan Pontypridd1929
PM Chatterjee10-20 Bengal v Assam Jorhat1956-57
AEE Vogler10-26 E Province v Griqualand West Johannesburg1906-07
AE Moss10-28 Canterbury v Wellington Christchurch1889-90
WP Howell10-28 Australians v Surrey The Oval1899
Naeem Akhtar10-28 Rawalpindi Blues v Peshawar B Peshawar1995-96
C Blythe10-30 Kent v Northamptonshire Northampton1907
H Pickett10-32 Essex v Leicestershire Leyton1895
A Drake10-35 Yorkshire v Somerset Weston-s-M1914
H Verity10-36 Yorkshire v Warwickshire Leeds1931
TW Wall10-36 South Australia v NSW Sydney1932-33
SA Whitehead10-36 South Western Districts v Easterns Oudtshoorn2021-22
AS Kennedy10-37 Players v Gentlemen The Oval1927
CV Grimmett10-37 Australians v Yorkshire Sheffield1930
PM Pushpakumara10-37 Colombo Cricket Club v Saracens Sports Club Moratuwa2018-19
SE Butler10-38 Oxford U v Cambridge U Lord's1871
EG Dennett10-40 Gloucestershire v Essex Bristol1906
W Bestwick10-40 Derbyshire v Glamorgan Cardiff1921
GOB Allen10-40 Middlesex v Lancashire Lord's1929
JD Bannister10-41 Warwickshire v Comb Services Birmingham1959
GP Wickramasinghe10-41 Sinhalese SC v Kalutara PCC Colombo1991-92
AE Trott10-42 Middlesex v Somerset Taunton1900
E Barratt10-43 Players v Australians The Oval1878
T Rushby10-43 Surrey v Somerset Taunton1921
IJ Brayshaw10-44 Western Australia v Victoria Perth1967-68
T Richardson10-45 Surrey v Essex The Oval1894
RL Johnson10-45 Middlesex v Derbyshire Derby1994
W Hickton10-46 Lancashire v Hampshire Manchester1870
DS Mohanty10-46 East Zone v South Zone Agartala2000-01
TF Smailes10-47 Yorkshire v Derbyshire Sheffield1939
OD Gibson10-47 Durham v Hampshire Durham2007
CHG Bland10-48 Sussex v Kent Tonbridge1899
WG Grace10-49 MCC v Oxford U Oxford1886
EJ Tayler10-49 Somerset v Surrey Taunton1895
WE Hollies10-49 Warwickshire v Nottinghamshire Birmingham1946
NI Thomson10-49 Sussex v Warwickshire Worthing1964
H Howell10-51 Warwickshire v Yorkshire Birmingham1923
J Mercer10-51 Glamorgan v Worcestershire Worcester1936
JB King10-53 Philadelphia v Ireland Haverford1909
AP Freeman10-53 Kent v Essex Southend1930
JC Laker10-53 England v Australia Manchester1956
G Wootton10-54 All England XI v Yorkshire Sheffield1865
GAR Lock10-54 Surrey v Kent Blackheath1956
J Briggs10-55 Lancashire v Worcestershire Manchester1900
Shahid Mahmood10-58 Karachi Whites v Khairpur Karachi1969-70
G Burton10-59 Middlesex v Surrey The Oval1888
ST Jefferies10-59 Western Province v OFS Cape Town1987-88
PJ Allan10-61 Queensland v Victoria Melbourne1965-66
TB Mitchell10-64 Derbyshire v Leicestershire Leicester1935
GC Collins10-65 Kent v Nottinghamshire Dover1922
MW Olivier10-65 Warriors v Eagles Bloemfontein2007-08
G Giffen10-66 Australia v Rest of Australia Sydney1883-84
AA Mailey10-66 Australians v Gloucestershire Cheltenham1921
JKR Graveney10-66 Gloucestershire v Derbyshire Chesterfield1949
K Smales10-66 Nottinghamshire v Gloucestershire Stroud1956
EA Watts10-67 Surrey v Warwickshire Birmingham1939
SMJ Woods10-69 Cambridge U v CI Thornton's XI Cambridge1890
A Shaw10-73 MCC v North of England Lord's1874
VE Walker10-74 England v Surrey The Oval1859
A Kumble10-74 India v Pakistan Delhi1998-99
JC White10-76 Somerset v Worcestershire Worcester1921
SP Gupte10-78 President's XI v Combined XI Bombay1954-55
AJG Pearson10-78 Cambridge U v Leicestershire Loughborough1961
P Sunderam10-78 Rajasthan v Vidarbha Jodhpur1985-86
CWL Parker10-79 Gloucestershire v Somerset Bristol1921
AP Freeman10-79 Kent v Lancashire Manchester1931
JC Laker10-88 Surrey v Australians The Oval1956
A Fielder10-90 Players v Gentlemen Lord's1906
FA Tarrant10-90Maharaja of Cooch-Behar's XI v Lord Willingdon's XIPoona1918-19
JM Sims10-90 East v West Kingston1948
TE Bailey10-90 Essex v Lancashire Clacton1949
Imran Adil10-92 Bahawalpur v Faisalabad Faisalabad1989-90
R Berry10-102 Lancashire v Worcestershire Blackpool1953
VE Walker10-104 Middlesex v Lancashire Manchester1865
TWJ Goddard10-113 Gloucestershire v Worcestershire Cheltenham1937
AY Patel10-119 New Zealand v India Mumbai2021-22
VWC Jupp10-127 Northamptonshire v Kent Tunbridge W1932
Jas Lillywhite10-129 South v North Canterbury1872
AP Freeman10-131 Kent v Lancashire Maidstone1929
Zulfiqar Babar10-143 Multan v Islamabad Multan2009-10
EE Hemmings10-175 International XI v West Indies XI Kingston1982-83
E Hinkly10- ? Kent v England Lord's1848
J Wisden10- ? North v South Lord's1850
The following bowlers took 10 wickets in 12 or more players per side matches
EM Grace10- 69 MCC v Gentlemen of Kent Canterbury1862
GF Tarrant10-40England v KentLord's1863
WG Grace10- 92 MCC v Kent Canterbury1873
DCS Hinds10- 36 AB St Hill's XII v Trinidad Port-of-Spain1900-01
FW Lillywhite10- ? Players v Gentlemen Lord's1837
Notes 1. Wisden's 10 wickets were all bowled 2. No analyses are available for the first two ever instances (by Hinkly and Wisden) 3. In EM Grace's match one batsman was absent, so he took all 10 wickets to fall 4. AP Freeman achieved the feat three times, at which time he was 42, 43 and 44 5. AE Moss took all ten in the first innings of his first-class debut. He only played four matches in all 6. The oldest man to achieve the feat is Billy Bestwick in 1921 when he was 46 years and 116 days old. He achieved his ten-for on June 20, 1921, and on the same day Jack White took all ten wickets for Somerset at Worcester 7. The youngest man is Imran Adil in 1989-90 when he was 18 years 344 days old 8. Jim Laker is the only man to achieve the feat twice in one season (1956), both times against Australia. On both occasions Colin McDonald top scored with 89