(D/N)Pro40 Division One at Taunton, Aug 17 2009
(36.4/40 ov, target 239)
Somerset won by 49 runs
Player Of The Match
Somerset Innings (40 overs maximum)
ME Trescothick c Goodwin b Wright36304151120.00
C Kieswetter c Yasir Arafat b Wright4548598093.75
JC Hildreth c Yasir Arafat b Hamilton-Brown4565682169.23
Z de Bruyn  b Yasir Arafat73687333107.35
PD Trego  b Yasir Arafat23233011100.00
AV Suppiah not out661010100.00
BJ Phillips not out22200100.00
Extras(lb 1, nb 4, w 3)8
TOTAL(40 Ov, RR: 5.95)238/5
Fall of wickets: 1-69 (Marcus Trescothick, 9.6 ov), 2-86 (Craig Kieswetter, 15.1 ov), 3-177 (James Hildreth, 31.5 ov), 4-224 (Zander de Bruyn, 37.4 ov), 5-231 (Peter Trego, 39.2 ov)
RJ Kirtley703805.42---20
Yasir Arafat705327.57---11
LJ Wright814625.75---00
DR Smith511603.20---01
MH Yardy804806.00---00
WAT Beer302006.66---00
RJ Hamilton-Brown201618.00---00
Sussex Innings (target: 239 runs from 40 overs)
RJ Hamilton-Brown c Turner b Suppiah1315111186.66
EC Joyce c Waller b Willoughby941081387087.03
LJ Wright lbw b Suppiah011000.00
MW Goodwin c †Kieswetter b Phillips19182320105.55
MH Yardy (c)st †Kieswetter b Phillips00100-
DR Smith c Hildreth b Turner2880025.00
CD Nash st †Kieswetter b Waller1624251066.66
AJ Hodd c †Kieswetter b Waller1721172080.95
Yasir Arafat c Hildreth b Willoughby1213141092.30
WAT Beer c Turner b Phillips712110158.33
RJ Kirtley not out014000.00
Extras(lb 4, nb 2, w 3)9
TOTAL(36.4 Ov, RR: 5.15)189
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Rory Hamilton-Brown, 3.2 ov), 2-18 (Luke Wright, 3.3 ov), 3-60 (Murray Goodwin, 9.4 ov), 4-61 (Michael Yardy, 9.5 ov), 5-72 (Dwayne Smith, 12.3 ov), 6-109 (Chris Nash, 21.3 ov), 7-141 (Andy Hodd, 27.3 ov), 8-173 (Yasir Arafat, 32.2 ov), 9-188 (Will Beer, 35.3 ov), 10-189 (Ed Joyce, 36.4 ov)
CM Willoughby6.403425.10---10
AV Suppiah302127.00---00
BJ Phillips703434.85---11
ML Turner602714.50---00
MTC Waller803424.25---00
PD Trego603505.83---10
The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton
TossSomerset , elected to bat first
SeriesPro40 Division Two 2009
Player Of The Match
Craig Kieswetter
Hours of play (local time)16.40 start, First Session 16.40-19.20, Interval 19.20-19.40, Second Session 19.40-22.20
Match days17 August 2009 - day/night match (40-over match)
Jeff Evans
Neil Bainton
TV Umpire
Nigel Cowley
PointsSomerset 2, Sussex 0
Somerset innings
  • Z de Bruyn 50 off 52 balls, 53 mins, 2x4, 2x6
Sussex innings
  • EC Joyce 50 off 57 balls, 74 mins, 4x4, 0x6