Harbhajan, Gurkeerat set up Haryana rout

Harbhajan Singh celebrates the wicket of Manish Pandey BCCI

Gurkeerat Singh Mann led Punjab to a clinical, five-wicket win with a brisk 91 off 86 balls in their chase of 197 after Haryana had reduced them to 75 for 4. It was Harbhajan Singh's figures with the ball - 10-0-33-4 - that put Punjab in a position of strength by bowling Haryana out for 196 in the penultimate over. After Siddarth Kaul removed Shubham Rohilla for a 12-ball duck, Nitin Saini and Chaitanya Bishnoi put on 68 for the second wicket in 109 balls, the biggest partnership of the innings. Punjab's bowlers provided regular breakthroughs thereafter, led by Harbhajan, who had four batsmen lbw. Punjab's chase got a steady start through U-19 opener Shubman Gill and Mandeep Singh, who added 47 in 81 balls. Legspinner Rahul Tewatia took three wickets and Harshal Patel had Yuvraj Singh bowled to pull Haryana back. Gurkeerat and Nikhil Chaudhary added an unbeaten 71 for the sixth wicket, of which the latter added 14.

At the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi, Assam aced their chase of 216 against Railways to register a four-wicket win with 12 balls to spare. After being asked to bowl, Assam restricted Railways to 215. An 85-run third-wicket stand between Akash Verma and Pratham Singh - after Railways were reduced to 8 for 2 - was the only phase in the game that Railways dominated. Arup Das took three wickets, while Pritam Das, Amit Verma and Swarupam Purkayastha claimed two scalps each. Handy contributions from Assam's top order - Pallavkumar Das (44), Arun Karthik (42), Verma (35) and Riyan Parag (32) - ensured there wasn't much trouble in the chase.

Akshay Karnewar, an ambidextrous bowler, led Vidarbha to a comfortable seven-wicket rout of Odisha with figures of 4 for 21 from 10 overs. Odisha chose to bat, and were given a steady start by Govinda Poddar's 68-ball 58. However, a score of 87 for 2 in the 23rd over quickly turned to 162 all out in the 46th over as the Vidarbha bowlers took control of the game. No other batsman scored more than 30. After a stable base, Vidarbha's chase was never in doubt. Jitesh Sharma struck a 71-ball 70 before he was lbw off Rajkishan Patel. A patient 30 from Ambati Rayudu took Vidarbha home with 59 balls to spare.

Assam 2nd innings Partnerships

1st53PP DasR Parag
2nd42RK DasPP Das
3rd5KB Arun KarthikPP Das
4th66Amit VermaKB Arun Karthik
5th10Amit VermaS Purkayastha
6th7Amit VermaJ Syed Mohammad
7th33J Syed MohammadKN Saikia