4th ODI, Toronto, Sep 20 1997, India tour of Canada
(25.3/26 ov, target 160)162/3
India won by 7 wickets (with 3 balls remaining)
player of the match
Pakistan INNINGS (28 overs maximum)
Saeed Anwar  b Kuruvilla30303032100.00
Shahid Afridi c †Karim b Mohanty221600100.00
Ramiz Raja (c)c †Karim b Ganguly2040670050.00
Ijaz Ahmed c Jadeja b Harvinder Singh1519260178.94
Saleem Malik c Singh b Ganguly1727421062.96
Moin Khan c Tendulkar b Harvinder Singh2327402185.18
Azhar Mahmood not out 33242432137.50
Saqlain Mushtaq not out 001000.00
Extras(lb 8, nb 1, w 10)19
TOTAL(28 Ov, RR: 5.67)159/6
Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Shahid Afridi), 2-46 (Saeed Anwar), 3-72 (Ijaz Ahmed), 4-95 (Ramiz Raja), 5-107 (Saleem Malik), 6-155 (Moin Khan)
Abey Kuruvilla602914.83---31
Debasis Mohanty503517.00---20
Harvinder Singh502525.00---00
Robin Singh603305.50---20
Sourav Ganguly622924.83---00
India INNINGS (target: 160 runs from 26 overs)
Sachin Tendulkar (c)c †Moin Khan b Shahid Nazir67101085.71
Sourav Ganguly not out 757513681100.00
Robin Singh c Mohammad Akram b Shahid Nazir1618253088.88
Mohammad Azharuddin c Ijaz Ahmed b Shahid Nazir78101087.50
Ajay Jadeja not out 3748883077.08
Extras(b 1, lb 5, nb 2, w 13)21
TOTAL(25.3 Ov, RR: 6.35)162/3
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Sachin Tendulkar), 2-41 (Robin Singh), 3-54 (Mohammad Azharuddin)
Aaqib Javed4.303507.77---22
Shahid Nazir603836.33---40
Mohammad Akram502705.40---11
Azhar Mahmood502505.00---20
Saqlain Mushtaq503106.20---10
Toronto Cricket, Skating and Curling Club
TossIndia, elected to field first
SeriesIndia tour of CanadaPakistan tour of Canada
Player Of The Match
Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly
Series resultIndia led the 5-match series 4-0
Match numberODI no. 1231
Match daysday(50-over match)
South Africa Image
Rudi Koertzen
West Indies Image
Steve Bucknor
TV Umpire
Australia Image
Steve Randell
Match Referee
West Indies Image
Jackie Hendriks
  • Match reduced to 28 overs a side. Due to early morning rain and wet outfield, match started at 2:36 p.m. local time.
  • India were fined 2 overs for a slow over rate
  • First time India have won 4 consecutive ODIs against Pakistan. (previous best: 3 (twice), from 11/09/1983 to 13/04/1984, from 20/02/1985 to 22/03/1985).