November 1, 2002

SA Scorpions open season against NSW

The South Australian Women's Cricket Association will tonight launch the 2002/03 season and has announced the SA Scorpions team to play NSW from November 9 - 10 on Adelaide Oval no. 2.

Australian squad member and 2001 National Women's League player of the year, Karen Rolton, will captain the side, and is joined by fellow Australian Squad member, Lauren Ebsary.

Completing the squad for the opening game against NSW are: Heather Booth (vc), Jo-Anna Kenney, Emma Sampson, Naomi Maidment, Shelley Nitschke, Amanda Taylor, Olivia Magno, Belinda Noack, Kris Britt, and Caroline Ward, who returns to the side after injury.

Also in the State squad are: Neisha Iles, January Jackowiak, Rebecca Pollard, Julie Woerner, Annette Johnson and Jess Lucas.

Boosting the start of the Scorpions season is the appointment of Glenelg Grade Club and South Australian Cricket Association community cricket coordinator, Mark Sorell, as Scorpions senior coach.

The Scorpions season opener starts at 10.00am and is free to the public.