Tasmanian player contracts July 8, 2005

Kremerskothen and Duval awarded full contracts

Cricinfo staff

The Tasmanian Cricket Association has announced the second round of contracts for the 2005-06 season and awarded Scott Kremerskothen and Chris Duval with full contracts. The Tasmanian board had earlier announced a list of 20 players who were awarded first-round contracts with Travis Birt and David Dawson being upgraded from rookie status to full contracts.

Duval, a right arm fast-medium bowler who transferred from South Australia, was picked with an eye for the future, according to Peter Faulkner, the chairman of selectors. "We are delighted to include these three players on our list," he said referring to Duval, Kremerskothen and Rhett Lockyear, who received a rookie contract. "After much deliberation regarding our second round contracts we see these as standout players who are deserving of a place in the Tigers Squad."

Duval played for South Australia in two ING Cup matches during the 2004-2005 season. He was awarded a scholarship to the Australian Cricket Academy in 2003 and is currently playing for the Australian Institute of Sport in the emerging players tournament in Brisbane.

Senior Contracted Members
George Bailey, Travis Birt, Michael Bevan, Luke Butterworth, Sean Clingeleffer, Jamie Cox, David Dawson, Michael Dighton, Michael Di Venuto, Xavier Doherty, Andrew Downton, Chris Duval, Brett Geeves, Adam Griffith, Dan Marsh, Scott Kremerskothen, Damien Wright, Ricky Ponting (CA)

Rookie Contracted Members
Dane Anderson, Ben Hilfenhaus, Rhett Lockyear, Tim Paine, Jason Shelton