Former deputy replaces Merriman after four-year term October 21, 2005

O'Connor named Cricket Australia chairman

Cricinfo staff

Bob Merriman will remain a Cricket Australia director © Getty Images

Creagh O'Connor has been elected as the Cricket Australia chairman and will replace Bob Merriman, who has completed his term that began in 2001. O'Connor, who was appointed deputy chairman in 2004, said the implementation of Cricket Australia's strategic plan, which was reviewed and finalised during the past year, was a priority so the organisation could achieve its vision of being Australia's favourite sport.

"Australian cricket has set itself some challenging targets through its most-recently adopted strategic plan," he said. "To achieve these Cricket Australia will need to work closely with its members and other stakeholders." Mr O'Connor, who spent 30 years in the engineering and construction industries, was appointed to the Cricket Australia board in 1998 and has served on the SACA board since 1991. He is also a trustee of the Les Favell Foundation in Adelaide.

Merriman said several landmarks stood out during his four years as chairman. "On the field there have been a number of satisfying moments including the 2003 World Cup win, winning the Border-Gavaskar Trophy for the first time since 1969, the record-breaking streak of the Australian Test team, and holding the Ashes from 1989 until 2005," he said. "This was all capped off by the magnificent show of goodwill by all players during the tsunami appeal match at the MCG earlier this year." Merriman will continue to serve on the Cricket Australia board after Cricket Victoria reappointed him as a Cricket Australia director.