Clingeleffer dropped for first time in six years December 18, 2006

Paine to take gloves for Tasmania

Cricinfo staff

Tim Paine will keep wicket for Tasmania in the Pura Cup © Getty Images

Tasmania have rewarded the in-form batsman Tim Paine by handing him the wicketkeeping duties for their Pura Cup match against Western Australia at Hobart starting on Tuesday. Sean Clingeleffer has been omitted for the first time since taking over from Mark Atkinson as the Tigers' wicketkeeper in 2000-01.

Clingeleffer's cause has not been helped by his lack of runs in four outings this season and the emergence of Paine as a dangerous top-order batsman in both forms of the game. Paine, 22, has been Tasmania's man behind the stumps in the Ford Ranger Cup this season and averages 58 in the four-day format in 2006-07.

Michael Bevan will rejoin the side after recovering from a hip flexor injury. Bevan played his last Pura Cup match in October but scored 110 in club cricket on the weekend to prove his fitness.

Bevan, the fast bowler Damien Wright and the spinner Xavier Doherty have been included in the Tigers' 12-man squad as they attempt to regain top place on the competition table. Adam Griffith will be rested as a precautionary move due to his back soreness and Luke Butterworth has been omitted.

Tasmania squad Michael Di Venuto, Tim Paine (wk), Michael Dighton, Travis Birt, George Bailey, Michael Bevan, Daniel Marsh (capt), Damien Wright, Xavier Doherty, Brett Geeves, Brendan Drew, Ben Hilfenhaus.

Western Australia squad Chris Rogers, Clint Heron, Shaun Marsh, Marcus North (capt), Adam Voges, Luke Pomersbach, David Bandy, Luke Ronchi (wk), Brad Hogg, Darren Wates, Steve Magoffin, Ben Edmondson.