FR Cup 2009-10 November 3, 2009

Cosgrove out of FR Cup with hamstring injury

Cricinfo staff

Mark Cosgrove has been ruled out of South Australia's FR Cup match against Victoria in Adelaide on Wednesday due to a hamstring injury. Cosgrove picked up the problem during the Sheffield Shield match this week and is expected to be available for the Redbacks' next four-day game.

South Australia have included the allrounder Matthew Weeks in their 12-man squad, while the wicketkeeper Tim Ludeman will make his FR Cup debut. Ludeman was given a chance in the Sheffield Shield due to Graham Manou's call-up to the ODI side in India and impressed in his only innings, scoring 62.

Victoria have left out Dirk Nannes for the 50-over clash, while Shane Harwood, Damien Wright and Aaron Finch have been included in the 12-man group having missed the Sheffield Shield game. It was a tough grind for the Bushrangers on the fourth day, when South Australia's stand-in captain Daniel Harris batted all day to secure a draw.

Wednesday's match is the first FR Cup game of the season for Victoria, who started late due to their involvement in the Champions League Twenty20 in India. South Australia have begun the tournament with two losses and the coach Mark Sorell said the pressure was on for the Redbacks to lift before the season starts slipping away.

"Our batting has probably missed the beat in a couple of those one-day games," Sorell said. "We haven't posted the totals that we probably should've. That makes it hard for your bowlers then, because [the opposition] batters aren't attacking. Our batters know that when they get starts they've got to go on and post big scores."

South Australia squad Daniel Harris (capt), Tom Cooper, James Smith, Michael Klinger, Cameron Borgas, Daniel Christian, Aaron O'Brien, Tim Ludeman (wk), Matthew Weeks, Jake Haberfield, Shaun Tait, Peter George.

Victoria squad Chris Rogers, Brad Hodge, Rob Quiney, David Hussey (capt), Aaron Finch, Andrew McDonald, Matthew Wade (wk), John Hastings, Damien Wright, Shane Harwood, Darren Pattinson, Bryce McGain.