Australia news March 30, 2012

Davis named Western Australia's best

ESPNcricinfo staff

The opening batsman Liam Davis won the Lawrie Sawle Medal as Western Australia's Player of the Year at the state's awards night in Perth on Thursday. Davis won the prize for a breakthrough year in which he scored 921 runs in the Sheffield Shield, finishing third on the tournament tally, and his unbeaten 303 against New South Wales was the highest score in the competition since Simon Katich made 306 in 2007-08.

Davis scored three hundreds and three fifties in the Shield season and his average of 65.78 was the highest of any player who appeared in more than one match. Davis finished on 25 votes, ahead of the vice-captain Adam Voges on 23 and the fast bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile on 20.

Herschelle Gibbs was named the Perth Scorchers Player of the Year for a BBL campaign in which he made 302 runs at 43.14 with a strike-rate of 151.75. Michael Hussey won the Gold Cup, awarded to Western Australia's most outstanding cricket across all levels, for the sixth time in the past seven years.

Other awards handed out on the night included the Players' Choice Award, which went to Nathan Rimmington, and the Excalibur Award for the player who best upholds the spirit of the Warriors, which was given to Michael Beer. The Future Legend Award, given to the player adjudged the rising star of Western Australian cricket, went to the fast bowler Jason Behrendorff.

Gemma Triscari, an emerging fast bowler, won the Zoe Goss Medal as the most outstanding female cricketer. Ernie Parker and Bruce Yardley were inducted into the Gallery of Greats.