October 3, 2000

Bulls sides named for season openers

The XXXX Queensland Bulls will take near full-strength teams into the respective season openers of their Mercantile Mutual Cup and Pura Cup campaigns.

The Queensland selection panel of chairman Andrew Courtice, Dirk Tazelaar and Paul Jackson today named the teams for Sunday's one day clash with the Southern Redbacks at Allan Border Field and next week's opening Pura Cup match against the Western Warriors in Perth.

The Mercantile Mutual Cup side features the return of Sunshine Coast pace bowler Ashley Noffke to the team in place of the injured Michael Kasprowicz, while Andrew Symonds will miss the one day game but has been provisionally named in the side for the Pura Cup match.

Symonds is with the Australian team competing in the ICC knock-out competition in Kenya but could be available for the Bulls' opening match of their campaign for back-to-back Pura Cup titles if Australia lose their first match on Saturday.

If Symonds is unavailable, right-hander Clinton Perren will take the middle order spot.

The Bulls will have their season launch tomorrow evening in the Legends Room in the Southern Stand at the Gabba between 5pm and 7pm and will train on Thursday morning from 8.30am at Allan Border Field.

Sunday's match will start at 10am and will include a Family Fun Day theme, with free entertainment and a special family priced ticket of $24 (two adults, two children).

The Southern Redbacks will arrive in Brisbane on Friday and will train on Friday at Allan Border Field.

The Redbacks team is captained by Darren Lehmann and contains former Test opener Greg Blewett. Allrounder Ryan Harris and pace bowler Paul Rofe will make their debuts for South Australia.

Mercantile Mutual Cup
XXXX Queensland Bulls v Southern Redbacks, Sunday, Allan Border Field:
Stuart Law (c), Matthew Hayden, Jimmy Maher, Martin Love, Clinton Perren, Geoff Foley, Scott Prestwidge, Wade Seccombe, Andy Bichel, Adam Dale, Dale Turner, Ashley Noffke (all 12 to play).

Southern Redbacks: Darren Lehmann (c), Greg Blewett (v-c), Chris Davies, David Fitzgerald, Ryan Harris, Mark Harrity, Ben Johnson, Graham Manou, Peter McIntyre, Paul Rofe, Brett Swain, Jeff Vaughan, Paul Wilson.

Pura Cup
XXXX Queensland Bulls v Western Warriors, Oct 13-16, WACA:
Stuart Law (c), Matthew Hayden, Jimmy Maher, Martin Love, Andrew Symonds/Clinton Perren, Geoff Foley, Wade Seccombe, Andy Bichel, Adam Dale, Ashley Noffke, Scott Muller, Matthew Anderson (twelfth man to be named).