Twenty20 bowling nominees

Scrooges of the short form

Two Guls and three others make up the Twenty20 bowling shortlist

George Binoy

January 14, 2010

Text size: A | A

Umar Gul successfully appeals for an lbw against Shane Watson, Pakistan v Australia, only Twenty20 international, Dubai, May 7, 2009
Umar Gul: a nightmare for batsmen in Twenty20 © Associated Press
Related Links

Umar Gul 4 for 8 v Australia
Only Twenty20, Dubai
Shane Watson had muscled to 33 off 13 balls when Gul was introduced into the attack. Watson didn't last another delivery; Gul trapped him lbw in the fifth over. That wicket triggered a collapse and Gul was brought back for his second over only in the 15th of the innings, whereupon he proceeded to snuff Australia out. He picked up three more wickets and finished with 4 for 8 to dismiss Australia for 108.

Trent Johnston 3 for 20 v Bangladesh
World Twenty20, Nottingham
Bangladesh were favourites, after India, to qualify from their group to the second stage of the World Twenty20, but their passage was ambushed by a three-wicket burst from Trent Johnston. He ripped through the top order, dismissing Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful and Shakib Al Hasan, to reduce Bangladesh to 50 for 3 in the eighth over. Thanks to his spell, Ireland had wrested the momentum, and they went on to capitalise on it.

Ajantha Mendis 3 for 20 v Australia
World Twenty20, Nottingham
Australia had never played Mendis before. They had prepared for him, but even the best-laid plans fail. Mendis bowled Ricky Ponting with one that went the other way, halting a promising innings of 25 off 15 balls. He then trapped Shane Watson lbw and breached Michael Hussey's defences. His spell of 3 for 20 helped limit Australia to 159 for 9, a total Sri Lanka overhauled with an over to spare.

Wayne Parnell 4 for 13 v West Indies
World Twenty20, The Oval
A 19-year-old novice up against one of the world's most intimidating openers, Chris Gayle. In his first over, Parnell hit Andre Fletcher's off stump with a fast and straight delivery. In his next, he ran in to Gayle and forced a mis-hit, leaving West Indies on 13 for 2 chasing 184. Parnell returned at the death, and with his second ball got rid of the dangerous Kieron Pollard before dismissing Jerome Taylor off the fourth. His figures at that point were 4 for 4 in 2.4 overs.

Umar Gul 5 for 6 v New Zealand
World Twenty20, The Oval
New Zealand were already struggling at 72 for 4 after 12 overs when Younis Khan brought a sixth bowler into the attack - Gul. His impact was instantaneous and devastating: Gul dismissed Scott Styris and Peter McGlashan with his third and fourth deliveries, sent Nathan McCullum's leg stump cartwheeling in his next over, and ended with the dismissals of James Franklin and Kyle Mills - again off consecutive balls - in his third. New Zealand were shot out for 99 and Daniel Vettori said he had "never ever seen someone reverse the ball after 12 overs".

George Binoy is a senior sub-editor at Cricinfo

RSS Feeds: George Binoy

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
George BinoyClose
George Binoy Assistant Editor After a major in Economics and nine months in a financial research firm, George realised that equity, capital and the like were not for him. He decided that he wanted to be one of those lucky few who did what they love at work. Alas, his prodigious talent was never spotted and he had to reconcile himself to the fact that he would never earn his money playing cricket for his country, state or even district. He jumped at the opportunity to work for ESPNcricinfo and is now confident of mastering the art of office cricket


Sambit Bal Editor, Cricinfo

Harsha Bhogle Television presenter and writer

Geoff Boycott Former England batsman, commentator

Ian Chappell Former Australia captain, commentator, columnist

Daryll Cullinan Former South Africa batsman, commentator

Peter English Australasia editor, Cricinfo

Tony Greig Former England captain, commentator

David Lloyd Former England coach, commentator

Sanjay Manjrekar Former India batsman, commentator

Andrew Miller UK editor, Cricinfo

Dileep Premachandran Associate editor, Cricinfo

Ramiz Raja Former Pakistan batsman and captain, commentator

Peter Roebuck Former Somerset captain, writer

Osman Samiuddin Pakistan editor, Cricinfo

Statsguru awards

The Statsguru Awards go beyond runs scored, wickets taken or batting average, and are the result of detailed data analyses of performances in 2009. Which batsman played more consistently than any other? Who got the highest percentage of his runs in boundaries? Who was the best bowler in the third and fourth innings? Cricinfo's ball-by-ball data analysis of every international game has answers to these queries and more. The Statsguru Awards are based on these stats. Among this year's big winners: Virender Sehwag, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Mitchell Johnson. Full list of winners here

News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days