Virender Sehwag at the ESPNcricinfo Awards 2009

"I would love to bat at No. 4"

Virender Sehwag discusses his award-winning 293 and more with Harsha Bhogle, Sanjay Manjrekar and Sambit Bal

March 1, 2010

Text size: A | A

At the ESPNcricinfo Awards ceremony in Jaipur, Virender Sehwag spoke about his 293 against Sri Lanka at the Brabourne Stadium, his approach to batting, the reasons for his success in Tests, where he would like to bat in the line-up, and his future in cricket. Sehwag received the award for best Test innings for the second year in a row. Last year, he won the award for his 201 not out against Sri Lanka at Galle.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print


Sambit Bal Editor, Cricinfo

Harsha Bhogle Television presenter and writer

Geoff Boycott Former England batsman, commentator

Ian Chappell Former Australia captain, commentator, columnist

Daryll Cullinan Former South Africa batsman, commentator

Peter English Australasia editor, Cricinfo

Tony Greig Former England captain, commentator

David Lloyd Former England coach, commentator

Sanjay Manjrekar Former India batsman, commentator

Andrew Miller UK editor, Cricinfo

Dileep Premachandran Associate editor, Cricinfo

Ramiz Raja Former Pakistan batsman and captain, commentator

Peter Roebuck Former Somerset captain, writer

Osman Samiuddin Pakistan editor, Cricinfo

Statsguru awards

The Statsguru Awards go beyond runs scored, wickets taken or batting average, and are the result of detailed data analyses of performances in 2009. Which batsman played more consistently than any other? Who got the highest percentage of his runs in boundaries? Who was the best bowler in the third and fourth innings? Cricinfo's ball-by-ball data analysis of every international game has answers to these queries and more. The Statsguru Awards are based on these stats. Among this year's big winners: Virender Sehwag, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Mitchell Johnson. Full list of winners here

News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days