Nigeria April 28, 2008

Rocks win Nigeria's Twenty20 title

Rocks Cricket Club of Abeokuta has won the maiden edition of the GTA 20/20 tournament

Rocks Cricket Club of Abeokuta has won the maiden edition of the GTA 20/20 tournament. The champions defeated Foundation Cricket Club of Lagos on Sunday, April 27 at Lagos’s TBS Cricket Oval by 23 runs to clinch the trophy.

Foundation won the toss and elected to put in Rocks CC to bat. The Olumo Boys scored 143 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in 20 overs. The duo of Joshua Ogunlola (47*) and Kunle Adegbola (57*) played disciplined innings to take their team to the target of 143 runs. Foundation Cricket Club put up a good fight but the bowling mix of the Adegbola brothers, supported by Joshua Ogunlola ensured that Foundation was restricted to 123 for 7 in 20 overs. Niyi Adegbola (Rocks) took 3 for 17 while his brother Kunle Adegbola took 2 for 29.

Kunle Adegola was awarded Man of the Match. He was also awarded Cricketer of the series with $1,000.00 in the bank for his outstanding performance. Other recipients were Austin Areghan (Pioneers CC), Bowler of the series, Denis Ogunkoya (FCC), Fieldsman of the series, Jai Changrani (Lagos Indians CC), Wicket Keeper of the series and Femi Oduyebo (FCC), Batsman of the series.

George Wiltshire, chairman of the Lagos State Cricket Association, said that he was “certain that in some few years to come, Nigeria will be at the international stage playing Twenty20 series and the GTA will always serve as the platform for selecting the national team players”.

Martin Williamson is executive editor of ESPNcricinfo and managing editor of ESPN Digital Media in Europe, the Middle East and Africa