Champions League Twenty20 2012

CLT20 from October 9-28, fourth IPL team gets direct entry

ESPNcricinfo staff

July 3, 2012

Comments: 200 | Text size: A | A

Mumbai Indians celebrate their one-wicket win over Trinidad & Tobago, Mumbai Indians v Trinidad & Tobago, Champions League T20, Bangalore, September 26, 2011
Mumbai Indians are the reigning CLT20 champions © Associated Press

The Champions League 2012 will be held between October 9 and 28 this year in South Africa and will be preceded by a six-team qualifying stage, as was held last year. However, unlike last year, the fourth IPL team has got direct entry to the main tournament (In 2011, Kolkata Knight Riders, who had finished fourth that IPL season, had to compete in the qualifiers). The six teams to play in the qualifying stage this year are Pakistan's Sialkot Stallions, New Zealand's Auckland Aces, Trinidad and Tobago from West Indies, one team from Sri Lanka and two from England.

The top two teams from the qualifiers will join eight others in the main round, according to a tweet by Sundar Raman, a member of the CLT20 technical committee.

The eight sides gaining direct entry to the main round of the CLT20 are the top four IPL teams (Mumbai Indians, who are also the CLT20 defending champions, current IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Daredevils), Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers (from Australia's Big Bash League) and Titans and Lions (South Africa).

Cape Town, Johannesburg, Centurion and Durban have been named as venues for the tournament, though the dates and venues for the qualifiers, as well as the schedule, are yet to be released.

The inaugural edition of the CLT20 - a tournament organised by the boards of India, Australia and South Africa - in 2009 had 12 teams while the 2010 version had 10. Last year, three teams from the qualifying stage made it to the main round, which included seven others.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (July 6, 2012, 17:44 GMT)

Please consider a team from Bangladesh, then we would get a 5th team in CL from IPL.. Ridiculous!

Posted by Windies2Dheart on (July 6, 2012, 13:26 GMT)

Why not call this the india and friends league or something like that

Posted by   on (July 6, 2012, 12:50 GMT)

I don't understand why people are complaining about this so called 'Champions' league, its a flop anyway and keeps getting worse each season. If you read the financial report of this 'Champions' league, it loses money and has sponsorships changes every year and besides, most people don't even watch it. Such tournaments should be run by the ICC or equally from all International boards so that way, such problems shall not exist. Ideally it should be 3 from IPL, 2 from England and 1 each from West Indies, Bangladesh, South Africa, Zimbabwe, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka etc so all is fair.

Posted by   on (July 6, 2012, 3:54 GMT)

I think the qualifying round will be much more interesting and standard than the champions league itself...

Posted by gunnerr4life on (July 6, 2012, 3:50 GMT)

All nine IPL teams should be given direct entries from next year because this is very unfair to the remaining 5 teams ... There should be nine IPL teams and 1 team from every other nation ... That would be very exciting to watch and fair to all .. ( sarcasm )

Posted by ashok16 on (July 5, 2012, 16:37 GMT)

CL stands for "Circus Laximus"

Posted by drnaveed on (July 5, 2012, 3:55 GMT)

this is totally unfair, the four indian sides and those countries who are sending two or more sides to participate in the CL, should have played the qualifier round ,so that in the end, only one team should have qualified from each country to play the champions league , along with the champion teams from other country.yes , no doubt india is the organiser of IPL and CL , but their should be laws of playing , which should benefit all countries and not just one country, what will happen ,if india says that it will play a match with 30 players and other sides allowed to play with 11 players only ????????????????????????????????

Posted by   on (July 5, 2012, 2:05 GMT)

4th team from ipl is ridiculous that's it. From india

Posted by   on (July 4, 2012, 22:24 GMT)

Its un fair to call 1 team from SL Wi and Pak i think PCB should ask Authorities to include 2 two teams frm next time at least and its also un fair to all three teams thy had to play qualify rounds as IPL teams gt dir enty is undestandable i think 2 teams frm WI PAK and BAN BPL should also be a part of Champions League

Posted by Noel-Kalicharan on (July 4, 2012, 20:26 GMT)

@Bruisers: Mumbai did not get in "because they are defending champions". New South Wales won in 2009 and failed to make it to 2010 because they did not finish in the top 2 in the Big Bash League. There was never a rule that one year's winner will automatically qualify for the next year. If that were the case, at the end of IPL 2012, we would have heard that the top 3 teams plus Mumbai had qualified. We did not.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Lions v Syd Sixers at Johannesburg - Oct 28, 2012
Syd Sixers won by 10 wickets (with 45 balls remaining)
Syd Sixers v Titans at Centurion - Oct 26, 2012
Syd Sixers won by 2 wickets (with 0 balls remaining)
Daredevils v Lions at Durban - Oct 25, 2012
Lions won by 22 runs
Daredevils v Titans at Centurion - Oct 23, 2012
No result (abandoned with a toss)
Auckland v Scorchers at Centurion - Oct 23, 2012
Scorchers won by 16 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days