ICC news September 20, 2010

Tendulkar in all major categories for ICC awards

ESPNcricinfo staff

Sachin Tendulkar leads the nominations for the seventh ICC awards as the only cricketer to have been short-listed in all the three major categories. India opener Virender Sehwag, South Africa's middle-order batsman Hashim Amla and England offspinner Graeme Swann are the other names in the marquee Cricketer of the Year short-list. Swann was a late inclusion to the initial long-list after the ICC overlooked him when they first released the list of contenders for the awards. The awards will be handed out at a ceremony in Bangalore on October 6.

Amla and Sehwag were also nominated for the Test cricketer of the Year award, along with South Africa seamer Dale Steyn. Two Australians - seamer Ryan Harris and allrounder Shane Watson - and South Africa's middle-order batsman AB de Villiers completed the short-list for the ODI award, along with Tendulkar.

Tendulkar was in prolific form during the assessment period - August 24 2009 to August 10 2010 - scoring 1064 runs in 10 Tests, and 914 runs in 17 ODIs, including the first double-century in the history of the format.

Sehwag's inclusion in the Test category came as no surprise after a year during which he topped the run-charts, apart from scoring his runs at an exceptional strike-rate of 97.34.

Ricky Ponting, the Australia captain who was the top ODI run-scorer during the assessment period, did not make the cut despite being on both the ODI and Player of the Year short-lists. de Villiers, who topped the ODI averages among players who scored above 700 runs, had four centuries in the 12-month period - second only to Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan, who scored five.

Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene won two Twenty20 nominations for his knocks against Zimbabwe and West Indies in the World Twenty20, while Brendon McCullum and Michael Hussey were also short-listed for batting performances. South Africa seamer Ryan McLaren was the only bowler to figure in the list of five.

This year's awards include nine individual prizes and three team awards. For the first time, a "people's choice award" that will be decided by online fan votes has been included. The short-lists were nominated by an independent 25-person academy comprising a host of former players, members of the media, and representatives of the elite panel of umpires and match referees.

The short-lists

Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, Virender Sehwag, Graeme Swann and Sachin Tendulkar

Test Player of the Year: Hashim Amla, Virender Sehwag, Dale Steyn and Sachin Tendulkar

ODI Player of the Year: Ryan Harris, Sachin Tendulkar , AB de Villiers, Shane Watson

Emerging Player of the Year: Umar Akmal, Steven Finn, Angelo Mathews and Tim Paine

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year: Ryan ten Doeschate (Netherlands), Trent Johnson (Ireland), Kevin O'Brien (Ireland) and Mohammed Shahzad (Afghanistan)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Michael Hussey 60* v Pakistan, Mahela Jayawardene 100 v Zimbabwe, Mahela Jayawardene 98* v West Indies, Ryan McLaren 5-19 v West Indies and Brendon McCullum 116* v Australia.

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Katherine Brunt (England), Shelley Nitschke (Australia), Ellyse Perry (Australia) and Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)

Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Tony Hill and Simon Taufel

Spirit of Cricket: India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe

Members of the voting academy

Former players: Ian Healy, Moin Khan, Athar Ali Khan, Shaun Pollock, Bob Willis, Sidath Wettimuny, Kris Srikkanth, Ian Bishop, Jeremy Coney, Mpumelelo Mbangwa and Roland Lefebvre

Media: Jim Maxwell (Australia), Osman Samiuddin (Pakistan), Sayeed Uzzaman (Bangladesh), Neil Manthorp (South Africa), Mike Selvey (England), Ranil Abeynaike (Sri Lanka), Sharda Ugra (India), Fazeer Mohammed (West India), Richard Boock (New Zealand), Enock Muchinjo (Zimbabwe) and Ian Callender (Associate Representative)

Elite panel of ICC referees representative: Roshan Mahanama

Elite panel of ICC umpires representative: Rudi Koertzen

Chairman of ICC cricket committee: Clive Lloyd

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • vinayagamurthy on September 24, 2010, 11:20 GMT


  • dummy4fb on September 23, 2010, 6:11 GMT

    we cannot accept the this nominations until sanga & dilshan names approved. absolutely this is a great error.

  • dummy4fb on September 22, 2010, 16:10 GMT

    my prediction is Swann is player of the year,, Sehwag is test player of the year,, A B de villiers is one day player of the year and Umar Akmal Emerging Player of the Year.......

  • dummy4fb on September 21, 2010, 17:55 GMT

    TENDULKAR deserves both "Cricketer of the Year" and "ODI Player of the Year". When comes to Test player of the year, he is a very strong contender!

  • _NEUTRAL_Fan_ on September 21, 2010, 14:51 GMT

    @zxaar. I will defend Something Witty, for he shares a similar view as I do. I don't think he is a Sachin hater at all. He, like me, thinks an all-rounder who has had a great yr. deserves cricketer of the yr. The key word being CRICKETER not batsman of the yr. Scoring 200 does not give u automatic rights to the award. Lara scored 400* and did not get the award that yr. and that was when the awards had some credibility, unlike the last 2 yrs.

  • dummy4fb on September 21, 2010, 14:20 GMT

    Th cricketer of the year should no doubt go to Sachin as watson is missing from the list.The test player is Sehwag and one day player will go to de villiers. Now that Aamer is not there,Mathews appears to be the favourite ut it wont be a surprise if the younger Akmal wins it.....The best t20 performance should go to Mike Hussey(if they are not counting upon the runs scored,otherwise Mahela Jayawardene)...Best umpire is Aleem Dar.....@Taufique Atique--Tamim Has been playing cricket for almost 4-5 years so I dont think he is "still" emerging.He might have been in the list 3 years ago for his performance in the 2007 World Cup where due to his heroics,India was thrown out of the competition.

  • ad-infinitum on September 21, 2010, 13:29 GMT

    And what a blunder keeping Eoin Morgan out of the emerging players list ...... Matthews should be the favorite now.

  • ad-infinitum on September 21, 2010, 13:26 GMT

    @CricFan78 : too good. i have nothing against Alexk400 (he is free to voice his opinion), but that comment made me laugh.

  • ad-infinitum on September 21, 2010, 13:17 GMT

    As Tendulkar has been nominated in all 3 categories, it shows he had had a fabulous year in both tests and ODIs (and also was the best player of IPL for that matter). No one else has excelled in BOTH tests and ODIs. So overall, he should take the Best Cricketer. Test cricketer should go to Sehwag or Swann (Swann for a change, maybe) and ODI cicketer to Watson. Hussey for the T20 innings. Spirit of cricket to New Zealand as i want Vettori to recieve at least one award during the ceremony.

  • zxaar on September 21, 2010, 12:22 GMT

    @ Something_Witty "I'm not a Tendulkar hater, " ---------- i said that so i think i take it back. Haven't seen you bashing sachin in every article. There are some people who have posted in this thread who are sachin hater because they bash sachin in every article. About cricketer of year nominations sachin would deserve much more because he has done extra ordinary in every format. Plus 200 in ODI barrier is first time broken and i think that alone is enough to warrant odi player of the year.

  • No featured comments at the moment.