April 22, 2002

TelstraClear White Ferns prepare to tour the Netherlands, Ireland and England

A training squad of 18 will assemble this Thursday for a four-day camp at Lincoln in preparation for their upcoming tour of the Netherlands, Ireland and England.

The touring squad will be reduced to 14 on May 1 and convener of selectors, Lesley Murdoch, says there is healthy competition for the final three or four places.

"There are a few positions that are still up for grabs and that provides an incentive for those fringe players to really apply themselves while they are in camp," said Murdoch.

The squad selected will play its first match of the four-week tour against the Netherlands on June 25.

They will then play two more matches against the Netherlands, followed by three against Ireland before competing in a tri-series in England against India and England.

All the matches on tour are One-Day Internationals.

"This is a fantastic opportunity, particularly for those players who haven't toured before, to experience the demands of international touring," said Murdoch.

"It's a fairly hectic schedule and the players will have to be prepared mentally and physically for an intense month of cricket where they are required to play three or four matches every week."

If the unofficial international rankings are anything to go by, the TelstraClear White Ferns should be too strong for the Netherlands and Ireland, with both England and India providing more challenging contests.

"The Netherlands and Ireland are both developing nations in terms of women's international cricket, but neither can be taken lightly as both will have home crowd support and conditions in their favour," said Murdoch.

"The Indian and England teams are both strong and we will have to be at our best if we are to achieve our ultimate objective of winning the tri-series in England."

The TelstraClear White Ferns 2002 winter training squad is:

Nicola Browne (Northern Districts)
Anna Corbin (Wellington)
Ingrid Cronin-Knight (Auckland)
Emily Drumm (Auckland)
Maria Fahey (Canterbury)
Paula Flannery (Canterbury)
Fiona Fraser (Canterbury)
Frances King (Wellington)
Michelle Lynch (Auckland)
Sara McGlashan (Central Districts)
Aimee Mason (Central Districts)
Louise Milliken (Northern Districts)
Nicola Payne (Canterbury)
Kate Pulford (Central Districts)
Rachel Pullar (Otago)
Kathryn Ramel (Auckland)
Rebecca Rolls (Auckland)
Haidee Tiffen (Canterbury)