December 22, 2002

ACB announces Australian under-19 team

The Australian Cricket Board today announced the Australian under-19 team for the 2003 international series against England in January and February next year.

The Australian under-19 team is:

Aaron BirdNSW RHB, RFMichael BrightNSWLHB, LB
Luke ButterworthTASLHB, RMFMark CosgroveSALHB, RM
Adam CrosthwaiteVICRHB, WKTDaniel CullenSARHB, OB
Liam DavisWARHBLuke DavisQLDRHB, LB
Theo DoropoulosWARHB, RMFMatthew GaleVICRHB, RMF
Matthew HarrisonVICLHB, LBGreg HuntNSWRHB
Trent KellySARHB, RF

Wayne Phillips (Coach), Brian Freedman (Manager), David Moore (Assistant Coach), Max Pfitzner (Physiotherapist).

The team was announced at the conclusion of the Commonwealth Bank Under-19 Championship Series in Canberra which saw Victoria claim the competition title with 32 points. South Australia's Mark Cosgrove was named Player of the Championship.

The 2003 international series begins in January when the Australian under-19 team takes on the England under-19 side in three four-day matches and five limited over-matches.

The schedule for the international series is:

12-15 1st four-day match  St Peter's College, Adelaide
18 1st one-day match  St Peter's College, Adelaide
20-23 Australia under-19 v
ECB National Academy St Peter's College, Adelaide
26 2nd one-day match  Melbourne Cricket Ground
28-31 2nd four-day match  AH Butler Oval, Frankston

February 3-6 3rd four-day match Bankstown Oval, Sydney 8 3rd one-day match Sydney Cricket Ground 10 4th one-day match TBC, Sydney 11 5th one-day match TBC, Sydney