Bangladesh v India, 2nd ODI, Dhaka December 25, 2004

Sehwag to replace Tendulkar

Virender Sehwag will get another chance to have a go at Bangladesh's bowlers in the second one-dayer © Getty Images

Back-to-back one-dayers are never easy on a team, but at least this time around India have the luxury of rotating their players around. And, unlike the norm in Indian cricket, there was no confusion about who would rest. Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh and Irfan Pathan make way for Virender Sehwag, Murali Kartik and Zaheer Khan. This means that the only decision the team has to make is between Sridharan Sriram and Dinesh Mongia.

Bangladesh, for their part, are likely to include Javed Omar and Mashrafe Mortaza in place of Rajin Saleh and Mushfiqur Rahman. Speaking at the pre-match press conference, Habibul Bashar, the Bangladesh captain, said, "We need to have more matches like the first one for us to actually think about starting to win games."

Sourav Ganguly, however, was not overly taken in by the closeness of the first one-dayer, which India won by 11 runs after a late Bangladesh surge. "We were never really threatened by Bangladesh at any stage but they competed well."

And, when the second one-dayer starts, at 1pm local time on Sunday, advanced by half an hour because of overcast and gloomy conditions, it's still India who hold all the aces, experimental team or not.

Bangladesh (from) Javed Omar, Nafis Iqbal, Habibul Bashar (capt), Mohammad Ashraful, Aftab Ahmed, Rajin Saleh, Khaled Mashud (wk), Khaled Mahmud, Mohammad Rafique, Tapash Baisya, Mashrafe Mortaza, Nazmul Hossain, Manjarul Islam.

India (from) Sourav Ganguly (capt), Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Sridharan Sriram, Dinesh Mongia, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Ajit Agarkar, Joginder Sharma, Zaheer Khan, Murali Kartik.

Anand Vasu is assistant editor of Cricinfo.