Forthcoming fixtures September 9, 2005

ICC announces umpires

Cricinfo staff

Billy Bowden will officiate in England's tour of Pakistan in November © Getty Images
The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced names of match referees and umpires appointed for all Test matches and ODIs to be played up to December, 2005 with the exception of the Super Series. The appointments, made from the Elite and International Panels, cover the South Africa-New Zealand, Australia-West Indies, Pakistan-England, India-South Africa and New Zealand-Australia series.

According to the ICC press release, Steve Bucknor from the Elite Panel and a home umpire appointed by the United Cricket Board of South Africa will officiate during the five-match ODI series between New Zealand and South Africa, while Chris Broad will be the match referee.

When the West Indies tour Australia in November, Mike Procter will stand as match referee for the Test series. Emirates International Panel umpire Ian Howell will stand in the first match with Rudi Koertzen at the opposite end. Aleem Dar will officiate in the next two matches with Billy Bowden replacing Koertzen in the third match.

Roshan Mahanama is the match referee for England's tour to Pakistan from November while Jeff Crowe will oversee the ODI series. Billy Bowden and Simon Taufel will stand in the first Test, while Darrell Hair will accompany Taufel in the second Test. Koertzen will replace Taufel in the third.

The Pakistan Cricket Board had specifically requested two neutral umpires for the ODI series instead of using one home official. Thus, Brian Jerling from South Africa and Tony Hill from New Zealand, both Emirates International Panel umpires, will officiate during the five-match series. Darrell Hair will officiate in the first two games and Koertzen will stand in with Hill in the next three matches.

When South Africa visit India for a five-match ODI series in November, Jeff Crowe will stand as match referee, while Daryl Harper will be accompanied by locally-appointed umpires from the International Panel.

Ranjan Madugalle will be the match referee for Australia's trip across the Tasman to New Zealand for a three-match ODI series in December. Aleem Dar has been appointed the Emirates Elite Panel Umpire for the series.