Junior selectors pick World Cup probables December 15, 2007

Kohli to lead U-19 side to South Africa

Cricinfo staff

Harshad Khadiwale: rewarded for his consistent showing in the ongoing Ranji Trophy © Getty Images

Delhi middle-order batsman Virat Kohli will lead India Under-19 in their tour to South Africa early next year. He will have Saurashtra's Ravinder Jadeja as the vice-captain, in a tour that includes two three-day games and a tri-series with Bangladesh as the third side.

The squad included familiar names who have been hitting the right notes in the ongoing Ranji Trophy. Tamil Nadu's Abhinav Mukund and Maharashtra's Harshad Khadiwale were rewarded for a string of good scores and Pradeep Sangwan, the left-arm seamer from Delhi, picked himself with a fine season so far.

KP Appanna and Iqbal Abdulla, left-arm spinners from Karnataka and Mumbai respectively, made the cut. There was also space for batsmen shining in the age-group levels like Manish Pandey, and Siva Kumar Duvarapu.

The junior selection committee also chose 30 probables for the Under-19 World Cup, set for Malaysia in February next year.

U-19 squad for tour to South Africa
Virat Kohli, (capt, Delhi) P Sangwan (Delhi) Ravinder Jadeja (vice-capt, Saurashtra), Abhinav Mukund (TN), Tanmay Srivastava (UP) Saurabh Tiwari (Jharkhand), KP Appanna, (Karnataka), Manish Pandey (Karnataka) Taruwar Kohli (Punjab), Amanpreet Singh (Punjab), Sreevats Goswami (Bengal) Siva Kumar Duvarapu, GVS Prasad (AP), Mohammad Arif (Rajasthan), Iqbal Abdullah (Mumbai), Harshad Khadiwale (Maharashtra).

Stand-byes: Ajitesh Argal (Baroda) Perry Goel (Punjab) D Prabhu Kiran (AP) N Einstein (TN).

Probables for the U-19 World Cup
Abhinav Mukund (Tamil Nadu), Harshad Khadiwale (Maharashtra), Manish Sharma (Rajasthan), Rohan Banerjee (Bengal), Virat Kohli (Delhi), Manish Pandey (Karnataka), Taruwar Kohli (Punjab), D. Parabhu Kiran (Andhra Pardesh), N Einstein (Tamil Nadu), Saurabh Tiwari (Delhi), Manprit Juneja (Gujarat), Ankit Tiwari (Uttar Pradesh), Tanmay Srivastava (Uttar Pradesh), Sreevats Goswami (Bengal), Rubin Dalwadi (Baroda), Perry Goyal (Punjab), Amanpreet Singh (Punjab), Pardeep Sangwan (Delhi), Mohammed Arif (Rajasthan), Dhawal Kulkarni (Mumbai), Ajitesh Argal (Baroda), Siddarth Kaul (Punjab), Siva Kumar Duvarapu (Andhra Pardesh), Ravinder Jadeja (Saurashtra), Sumit Khatri (Rajasthan), Yogesh Nagar (Delhi), GVS. Parsad (Andhra Pardesh), KP Appanna (Karnataka), Iqbal Abdullah (Mumbai) and Swapnil Singh (Baroda).