ACC news July 1, 2014

Jayantha Dharmadasa takes charge of ACC

ESPNcricinfo staff

Jayantha Dharmadasa, the president of Sri Lanka Cricket, has been appointed president of the Asian Cricket Council. Dharmadasa takes over from barred BCCI president and ICC chairman N Srinivasan with immediate effect, and will head the body for two years.

This is Dharmadasa's second term in charge of the ACC - he previously headed it from 2006.

Srinivasan's term ended this year - the change in leadership has no connection with Srinivasan taking over as ICC chairman. The ACC presidency is assigned on a rotational basis, between the four Full Member nations, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. This was Sri Lanka's turn.