November 6, 2000

Goss recalled for fourth World Cup

The return of Zoe Goss to international cricket is the main highlight of the Australian squad of fourteen for the 2000 CricInfo Women's World Cup, announced today.

The 31 year-old all-rounder from Western Australia will play in her fourth World Cup, following appearances in the 1988, 1993 and 1997 tournaments. She was a member of the Australian team which defeated England at the Melbourne Cricket Ground to take the world crown in 1988, however in 1997 in India she was dropped from the Australian eleven that went on to win the title.

After being omitted from the 1998 Australian touring side to England she remained in the international wilderness, however a change of states from Victoria back to her native WA in 1999 saw her added to the 2000 Australian winter training squad after she led the Western Fury into the finals of the Women's National League.

At the halfway stage of the 2000-01 Australian Women's National League, Goss has scored 215 runs at an average of 71.66 in four matches, and taken six wickets at 16.50 apiece.

Goss has played in 17 World Cup games since 1988 - which is more than any other current Australian player - scoring 206 runs at an average of 29.42 and taking 12 wickets at 22.33.

Although Goss will be taking part in her fourth World Cup, she will not be the most experienced of the players taking part in the eight-nation competition, with New Zealand's Debbie Hockley turning out for World Cup number five.

Three players in the Australian squad released today will be back for their third World Cup - team captain Belinda Clark, all-rounder Jo Broadbent, and fast bowler Cathryn Fitzpatrick. All made their World Cup debuts in England in 1993.

Two players without full international experience make their debuts in the Australian squad: New South Wales all-rounder Julie Hayes, and Victorian opening batsman and leg-spinner Leonie Broadfoot. Omitted from the squad of thirteen that made a clean sweep of the 1999-2000 summer against England and New Zealand are Victorian pace bowler Clea Smith and New South Wales batsman Martha Winch.

The release of the Australian squad means that the teams for all eight competing World Cup nations have now been announced. The World Cup opens on November 29 with Australia playing New Zealand. Both teams are favoured to meet again in the final on December 23.

The Australian squad for the CricInfo Women's World Cup is: Belinda Clark (NSW, capt), Karen Rolton (SA, vc), Julia Price (Qld), Joanne Broadbent (SA), Louise Broadfoot (Vic), Cherie Bambury (WA), Avril Fahey (WA), Cathryn Fitzpatrick (Vic), Zoe Goss (WA), Julie Hayes (NSW), Lisa Keightley (NSW), Olivia Magno (SA), Charmaine Mason (Vic), Therese McGregor (NSW).