October 23, 2000

Likhar bowls MP to narrow first innings lead

A seven wicket haul by Jitendra Likhar saw Rajasthan concede a narrow nine run lead to Madhya Pradesh on the second day of their Central Zone Cooch Behar (Under-19) Trophy match at the KL Saini Stadium in Jaipur on Monday.

Having bowled out Madhya Pradesh overnight for 215, Rajasthan made a quiet start with openers Arvind Mann (33) and Vivek Sharma (30) adding 64 runs in 31.3 overs. Then both Mann and Sharma were dismissed by successive deliveries bowled by Jitendra Likhar. Likhar in the next over had Dalpat (0) caught by Jatin Saxena. Then Ankur Singh (20) and Tahir Khan (7) took the score to 98 when Ankur fell for a catch by J Saxena off Mohanish Mishra.

Likhar who was proving to be unplayable ran through the lower order and finished with seven for 69 off 31.1 overs. Though D Yagnik (32) tried to revive the Rajasthan innings he ran out of partners as his side were all out for 206. MP in their second innings were three without loss in four overs by stumps.