Deodhar Trophy 2011-12, 1st semi-final

Jadhav, Abdulla take West to final

ESPNcricinfo staff

March 17, 2012

Comments: 4 | Text size: A | A

West Zone 342 for 7 (K Jadhav 114, Pujara 70, S Ahmed 4-62) beat South Zone 234 (Tiwary 112*, Abdulla 6-32) by 108 runs

Kedar Jadhav and Iqbal Abdulla powered West Zone to the final of the Deodhar Trophy in a one-sided semi-final against East Zone in Mohali. Jadhav's 114, which came off only 69 balls, helped West Zone set up a daunting target, and left-arm spinner Abdulla strangled East Zone's chase as he picked up 6 for 32.

East elected to bowl and were soon put under pressure by openers Parthiv Patel (69) and Ajinkya Rahane (36), who racked up an 84-run opening partnership in good time. The departure of both openers brought Jadhav and Pujara (70) to the centre. By the time Jadhav was out, the partnership was worth 171 runs in 23.2 overs. None of the bowlers were spared from the onslaught. Later, Mumbai's Suryakumar Yadav blasted three sixes and two fours in an 11-ball 27 to push West's total beyond 300 and dent the fielding team's confidence.

With the momentum against them, East lost Dheeraj Jadhav in the second over to Jaydev Unadkat. However, it was the introduction of Abdulla inside the first 10 overs that derailed the chase. Abdulla spun a web around the batsmen and accounted for the next four wickets before East got to 100 runs. Saurabh Tiwary resisted the slide with his unbeaten 112 off 95 balls, but with other batsmen falling prey to Abdulla and Co, he was left stranded as the innings folded in the 40th over.

Kedar Jadhav was awarded Man-of-the-match for setting up the win. West Zone now travel to Dharamsala for the final, which is on March 19. The second finalist will be decided tomorrow when Central Zone take on North Zone in Dharamsala.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by dudex16 on (March 18, 2012, 3:27 GMT)

This Jadhav guy can come handy in the indian team....looks good

Posted by   on (March 18, 2012, 3:25 GMT)

Surya kumar yadav should be in the indian odi squad he looks an extremely talented young man

Posted by sre_28 on (March 17, 2012, 18:26 GMT)

It is east zone and not southzone!

Posted by   on (March 17, 2012, 17:04 GMT)

In one day batting line up Mumbai's Suryakumar Yadav need to come in place Rohit Sharma or need to avoid one fast bowler. Suryakumar Yadav can score runs very fast and also he is handy medium fast bowler too.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Tournament Results
North Zone v West Zone at Dharamsala - Mar 19, 2012
West Zone won by 113 runs
Central Zone v North Zone at Dharamsala - Mar 18, 2012
North Zone won by 22 runs
East Zone v West Zone at Mohali - Mar 17, 2012
West Zone won by 108 runs
Central Zone v South Zone at Mohali - Mar 16, 2012
Central Zone won by 4 wickets (with 63 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days