December 7, 2002

England name initial 30-man World Cup squad


Jeremy Snape has been included in England's initial squad of 30 players for the World Cup, despite being ruled out of the forthcoming triangular series with Australia and Sri Lanka with a broken thumb.

Snape's name joins those of all the one-day players currently in Australia on a list that will be reduced to 15 by the end of the year.

Matthew Hoggard is also included, despite being left out of the opening round of one-day games in Australia. Former England one-day skipper Adam Hollioake is rewarded for a fine all-round season as he led Surrey to their third championship title in four years.

Matthew Maynard, who helped Glamorgan to the Norwich Union League title last season, is in the squad alongside Ryan Sidebottom, Chris Read and Vikram Solanki. But there is no place for England's reserve wicket-keeper in the Ashes squad James Foster.

Uncapped players Darren Stevens, Anthony McGrath, Martin Saggers, Kyle Hogg and James Anderson complete the squad.

Provisional England World Cup squad: N Hussain (Essex), M Trescothick (Somerset), N Knight (Warwickshire), M Vaughan (Yorkshire), O Shah (Middlesex), A Stewart (Surrey), R Irani (Essex), P Collingwood (Durham), A Flintoff (Lancashire), C White (Yorkshire), I Blackwell (Somerset), J Snape (Leicestershire), A Giles (Warwickshire), A Caddick (Somerset), M Hoggard (Yorkshire), J Kirtley (Sussex), R Key (Kent), D Stevens (Leicestershire), V Solanki (Worcestershire), A McGrath (Yorkshire), M Maynard (Glamorgan), A Hollioake (Surrey), C Read (Nottinghamshire), R Dawson (Yorkshire), M Saggers (Kent), K Hogg (Lancashire), K Ali (Worcestershire), S Harmison (Durham), R Sidebottom (Yorkshire), J Anderson (Lancashire).