County news October 23, 2009

Eight players stay with Warwickshire

Cricinfo staff

Warwickshire batsman Jonathan Trott, along with seven other players, has signed a three-year contract extension with the county.

Warwickshire captain Ian Westwood, Darren Maddy, Chris Woakes, Naqaash Tahir, Richard Johnson, Boyd Rankin and Ateeq Javid were the others to commit to the county until the end of the 2012 season. Wicketkeeper Tim Ambrose agreed to a one-year extension, while Ian Bell, who has a year left on his contract, will hold discussions after he returns from holiday.

"I am over the moon that so many have signed up for three years," said Ashley Giles, the county's director of cricket. "I don't like messing around with too many contracts at the end of every season. This gives us a real chance to keep some continuity in the squad and build on what we are trying to achieve."