September 7, 2004

Rahul Dravid wins the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy as Player of the Year at ICC Awards

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy © Getty Images
India's Rahul Dravid tonight claimed the most prestigious individual honour in world cricket after being named Player of the Year at the ICC Awards in London.

Dravid, who earlier in the evening picked up the Test Player of the Year award, capped a memorable night by receiving the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for his prolific performances this year.

The ICC Awards, presented by Hyundai in association with FICA, recognise the game's most superior players of the past 12 months.

Accepting his award, Dravid said: "I am so happy to be recognised by some really great people and selectors. Thank you, this means so much to me."

ICC President Ehsan Mani said: "On behalf of the ICC, I congratulate Rahul Dravid on winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, and also the Test Player of the Year award," said Mr Mani.

"He has demonstrated his outstanding skill over the course of the year, and showed his consistency and ability to play well at home and abroad.

"It was Rahul's peers and colleagues who voted on this award, so he is indeed a worthy winner."

Dravid polled 64 votes to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy. England all-rounder Andrew Flintoff (44) nudged out South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis (44) for second place on count back, while Australian batsman Matthew Hayden finished fourth with 38 votes.

Ten of the world's best cricketers were nominated for the Player of the Year award, international cricket's highest individual honour.

Voting for the Player of the Year was completed by the 50-member ICC Awards voting Academy, who cast a 3-2-1 vote (3 votes being the greater value) from the list of nominees, with the votes tallied to produce a winner.

The voting Academy included the 10 ICC Full Member captains, the Emirates Elite Panel of eight ICC Referees, seven members of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires (the eighth member did not officiate in the voting period), and a combination of 25 former legends and respected members of the media.