South Africa A and India A announce one-day squads September 21, 2007

Five South Africa Twenty20 players to join A team

Cricinfo staff

Albie Morkel, one of the stars of South Africa's World Twenty20 campaign, will now join the A squad in India © Getty Images
South Africa A look set be bolstered by the inclusion of five players from the national Twenty20 squad - Albie Morkel, Vernon Philander, Johan van der Wath, Gulam Bodi and Thandi Tshabalala - for their three-match one-day series against India A.

Johan Botha, the Warriors offspinner has also been included in the 17-man squad captained by Boeta Dippenaar. According to a report in News24, Botha will fly to India today to join the A team currently playing the second and final Test in Dharamsala.

It is unclear when the five from the national Twenty20 squad will head to India, considering South Africa's campaign in the ICC World Twenty20 came to end yesterday.

Justin Kemp, who was also scheduled to join the A team, will stay back in South Africa, after he asked to be relieved from the tour to be with his ailing grandfather.

Meanwhile, Ashwell Prince, Hashim Amla and Dale Steyn will leave the A squad to join the national team for the two-Test series against Pakistan.

India A had announced a 15-man squad for the one-dayers on September 18, with S Anirudha, Karan Goel and Abhishek Nayar getting their first call up to the A side.

Anirudha, a hard-hitting right-hand batsman, is the son of former India captain Kris Srikkanth, and represents Tamil Nadu at the domestic-level. He along with Goel, a slow-bowling allrounder who plays for Punjab, were part of the probables for the World Twenty20. Nayar, a medium-pace allrounder from Mumbai, has been included in the team after scoring 152 against Karachi Urban in the Mohammad Nissar Trophy.

The three-match ODI series will take place in Ahmedabad (Sept 26), Baroda (Sept 28) and Rajkot (Sept 30).


South Africa A Boeta Dippenaar (capt), Yusuf Abdullah, Gulam Bodi, Johan Botha, Werner Coetsee, Friedel de Wet, Rory Kleinveldt, Charl Langeveldt, Albie Morkel, Justin Ontong, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Thandi Tshabalala, Thami Tsolekile (wk), Johan van der Wath, Morne van Wyk

India A Mohammad Kaif (capt), Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel (wk), Manoj Tiwary, Ishant Sharma, Subramaniam Badrinath, Cheteshwar Pujara, Arjun Yadav, Yo Mahesh, Praveen Kumar, Pankaj Singh, S Anirudha, Abhishek Nayar, Karan Goel, Pragyan Ojha