Sri Lanka Premier League news

Indian players in SLPL a possibility - BCCI

ESPNcricinfo staff

May 12, 2012

Comments: 23 | Text size: A | A

N Srinivasan, Treasurer of BCC
N Srinivasan: "We have to be satisfied that the doubts and problems we had last time will not continue" © AFP

BCCI president N Srinivasan has said that Indian players could participate in the newly launched Sri Lanka Premier League (SLPL), if the hosts make such a proposal. The tournament will be held between August 10 and 31 this year at Colombo and Pallekele. Each of the seven provincial teams will be allowed a maximum of six overseas players in their squads and four in their playing XI.

"Last time around, there were specific reasons why the BCCI could not support the tournament," Srinivasan said. "And we informed the Sri Lankan board at that time.

"This time, if there are any proposals made, we will examine it. And we have to be satisfied that the doubts and problems we had last time will not continue."

Last year's event was scheduled to kick off on July 19, with the final to be played on August 6. The tournament hit its first hurdle when the BCCI decided to withhold its permission to allow Indian players to take part on the grounds that Somerset Entertainment Ventures, which owned the commercial rights, would be handling the contracts for international players and that it could lead to complications, should disputes arise over payments.

In order to assuage the BCCI, SLC was willing to back the Indian players' contracts so that their financial interests were protected, but that was not enough to satisfy the BCCI. The tournament had to be postponed.

Srinivasan chose not to comment on why the deal collapsed last year. The success of the Indian Premier League has led to the mushrooming of similar Twenty20 leagues in Bangladesh and Australia. However, Indian players have been absent from both.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (May 15, 2012, 18:19 GMT)

Indian cricketers are not Important to SLPL. there are so many cricketers available from other countries.

Posted by   on (May 14, 2012, 11:13 GMT)

BCCI should allow their top players in SLPL to help SL

Posted by fajju09876 on (May 14, 2012, 7:39 GMT)

There would be a maximum of 42 players in the tournament .so BCCI could send 8 to 10 players to play SLPL.SLPL can also have a lot of zimbabwe and Associates players and few international stars

Posted by DingDong420 on (May 13, 2012, 19:45 GMT)

Arent India in SL for tests soon?

Posted by   on (May 13, 2012, 12:21 GMT)

This tournament format is getting dull. It's hardly going to grow domestic T20 stocks if 40% of the playing side is made up of internationals. Australia might not be the best T20 side, but at least we limit OS players to two, and make sure its our players who are the focus.

Posted by charith2017 on (May 13, 2012, 8:36 GMT)

We do not need any Indian players in our SLPL,

Posted by CaptainKool on (May 13, 2012, 1:45 GMT)

Pak got CLT20 place, proposal for Indian players to play in SLPL and IPL teams to play Associates, Affiliates. What a great job BCCI!

Posted by   on (May 12, 2012, 22:38 GMT)

yes BCCI is been now a bit understanding these days, they have allowed a pakistani team in CL t-20 now allowing Indian players to SLPL is also a proof to this, neverthless this will benfit all the three boards and the countries ties.......good move

Posted by howardroark_fh on (May 12, 2012, 22:02 GMT)

@jonathonjosephs no body cares about money?! really. haha

Posted by Bruisers on (May 12, 2012, 21:08 GMT)

So maximum 6 overseas players per squad.. Hmm. That means there will be 42 (maximum) overseas players in the tournament. I don't think India needs to send all its top players though. Only some domestic players can be sent to improve their game.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Country Fixtures Country Results
3rd ODI: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore - Nov 28
India Women 180 (47.3/50 ov)
Quarter-final: Central Zone v South Zone at Mumbai
Nov 29, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
1st Semi-final: East Zone v North Zone at Mumbai
Nov 30, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Only T20I: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 30, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 23:30 EST | 22:30 CST | 20:30 PST)
2nd Semi-final: TBA v West Zone at Mumbai
Dec 1, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days