India news July 31, 2013

Dalmiya re-elected CAB president

ESPNcricinfo staff

Jagmohan Dalmiya, the interim BCCI chief, has been re-elected Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president for another term.

Dalmiya was re-elected unopposed at the 82nd annual general meeting of the CAB in Kolkata and also retained the panel of the two joint secretaries, Subir Ganguly and Sujan Mukherjee, and treasurer Biswarup Dey. Dalmiya, 73, has been heading the board since 1993, except a 19-month period starting December 2006 when he was unseated from the position for alleged embezzlement of funds from the 1996 World Cup. He was elected the board president again in July 2008.

The only change in the board was the election of former BCCI joint secretary Gautam Dasgupta as trustee and board chairman. The four other members, who are also new, to the trustee board are - Russi Jeejeebhoy, Samar Kar, Shibaji Roy and Shivkumar Kalyani.