India news August 7, 2013

Vijay Zol makes it to India A squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

Vijay Zol, the 18-year-old Maharashtra batsman, has been named in the India A squad for the long-format matches against the touring New Zealand A team. Zol, who has not played a first-class match thus far, has been prolific at the Under-19 level, scoring consecutive centuries against Sri Lanka in the recent youth-Test series.

The team for the two unofficial Tests - one three-day and one four-day match - will be led by Mumbai allrounder Abhishek Nayar and includes a number of young players; Punjab batsman Jiwanjot Singh, Delhi's Unmukt Chand, Gujarat's Manprit Juneja and Madhya Pradesh spinner Jalaj Saxena among others.

The squad for the three unofficial ODIs also includes consistent performers from the domestic scene. The side, led by Chand, the former Under-19 captain, also includes Robin Uthappa, who last played an ODI for India in 2008.

All the matches of the series are scheduled to be played in Visakhapatnam and the tour kicks off with the three-day match starting August 31.

India A Test squad: Abhishek Nayar (capt), Jiwanjot Singh, Unmukt Chand, Vijay Zol, Manprit Juneja, VA Jagadeesh, CM Gautam (wk), Dhawal Kulkarni, Imtiaz Ahmed, Aniket Choudhary, Shrikant Wagh, Jalaj Saxena, Rakesh Dhruv, Sarabjeet Ladda.

India A ODI squad: Unmukt Chand (capt), Robin Uthappa, Aditya Tare (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Mandeep Singh, Ashok Menaria, Sanju Samson, Sachin Baby, Dhawal Kulkarni, Basant Mohanty, Sandeep Sharma, Shrikant Wagh, Rahul Sharma, Jalaj Saxena