India news

Wadiyar and Brijesh Patel back in power at KSCA

ESPNcricinfo staff

December 2, 2013

Comments: 1 | Text size: A | A

The old guard of Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wadiyar, the scion of the Mysore royal family, and Brijesh Patel, the former India batsman, have returned to power in the Karnataka State Cricket Association, after sweeping the elections on Sunday. Their group won all 24 posts in the election to the KSCA managing committee.

Wadiyar is back as president, a post he lost to Anil Kumble in 2010, and Patel returns as secretary, a role he held for 12 years till he was defeated by Javagal Srinath three years ago. Kumble and Srinath had announced in October that they would not be contesting the elections this year.

Wadiyar defeated Sadanand Maiya, who was supported by Kumble, in the presidential race. "I would like to thank all the members of the KSCA for having supported the Wadiyar and Brjiesh group," Wadiyar said. "It is overwhelming that the entire group of 24 candidates has won this election by convincing margins."

Patel's rival for the job of secretary was former Karnataka batsman and international umpire AV Jayapraskash. "We can't expect a better mandate than this, 24 out of 24 is great," Patel said. "Now we need to deliver in the next three years. Our first target is to see that our Ranji Trophy team does well and that junior cricket is played and revived."

Key officials at KSCA: President - Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wadiyar, Secretary - Brijesh Patel, Vice-presidents - Sudhakar Rao, Ashok Anand , Sanjay Desai, Treasurer - Dayananda Pai

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by D-Ascendant on (December 2, 2013, 4:58 GMT)

What no position for Sidhartha Mallya? He's done more than anybody else to improve cricket in Karnataka.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
3rd ODI: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 28, 2014 (15:00 local | 09:30 GMT | 04:30 EST | 03:30 CST | 01:30 PST)
Quarter-final: Central Zone v South Zone at Mumbai
Nov 29, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
1st Semi-final: East Zone v North Zone at Mumbai
Nov 30, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Only T20I: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 30, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 23:30 EST | 22:30 CST | 20:30 PST)
2nd Semi-final: TBA v West Zone at Mumbai
Dec 1, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days