IPL 2014

Dhawan to lead Sunrisers in IPL 2014

ESPNcricinfo staff

March 24, 2014

Comments: 15 | Text size: A | A

Shikhar Dhawan sweeps to the leg side, Sunrisers Hyderabad v Mumbai Indians, IPL, Hyderabad, May 1, 2013
Shikhar Dhawan was one of the two players retained by Sunrisers before the auction © BCCI
Related Links
Players/Officials: Shikhar Dhawan | Darren Sammy
Series/Tournaments: Pepsi Indian Premier League

Shikhar Dhawan will lead Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2014, while Darren Sammy, West Indies' T20 captain, has been appointed vice-captain.

While Dhawan was one of the two players retained by the franchise before the IPL auction, Sammy was bought back for Rs 3.5 crore (approx. $583,000) using the Right to Match card.

Sunrisers were led by Kumar Sangakkara for most of their first IPL season last year, with Cameron White also captaining in a few games. Both players, however, are not a part of the team for 2014 and the leadership roles have been given to Dhawan and Sammy, who contributed heavily to the team's fourth-place finish in the league.

Dhawan was the highest run-getter for Sunrisers, with 311 runs in 10 innings at 38.87, in spite of missing a few games due to injury. Sammy, who arrived late due to the birth of his daughter, scored 174 runs at an average of 29.00 and took eight wickets in 10 matches.

The first leg of IPL 2014 will be played in the UAE with the tournament kicking off on April 16.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (March 29, 2014, 13:32 GMT)

Preferring Pervez Rasool in place of out of form Irfan Pathan is a better choice i think

Posted by veshraj on (March 29, 2014, 3:49 GMT)

i think dhawan is also sutaible but in this one 1. Shikar Dhawan [ captain ] 2. Aaron Finch 3. David warner 4. Naman Ojha [ wk ] 5. Breandon Taylor / Darrren Sammy 6. Karn sharma / Manpreet Juneja / venu gopal Rao / KL rahul 7. IRfan pathan 8. Amit mishra 9. BHuvaneshwer kumar 10. Ishant Sharma 11. DALE STEYN in place of karan sharma ........... darren sammy should be kepta so that brendon taylor and sammy can play well in a game

Posted by   on (March 29, 2014, 2:32 GMT)

Sammy better option, he is more experienced and a senior player. It is too early for Dhawan to captain a team, the same holds true for Rohit to captain MI..

Posted by Naveen0187 on (March 26, 2014, 18:11 GMT)

Happy to see SRH appointing Sammy as leader deputy to Dhawan. For atleast first phase of the tournament, Playing XI must be Dhawan, Fintch, Warner, Naman Oja/ KL Rahul, Venu Gopal Rao, Sammy, Irfan Pathan, Parvez Rasool/Karan Sharma, Amit Mishra, Bhuvi Kumar, Dale Styne.

UAE pitches are on the slower side, therefore, spinner will do the best job for any team. See the performances of pakistani spinners (performance in UAE) as the evidence...

Posted by narangoda86 on (March 26, 2014, 16:47 GMT)

I think they have to choose sanga and white....This is not a fair decission

Posted by theodore12 on (March 26, 2014, 14:35 GMT)

David warner should open.

Posted by Nampally on (March 26, 2014, 13:29 GMT)

@Susmitha Olga Eric: You are correct.Taylor is WK/Batsman but SRH need an option in case Taylor is not available. Ishant may not get regular chance. SRH may opt for regulars in Kumar, Steyn & Pathan in pace on the home pitch + Karan & Mishra in spin. With Ojha being an opener, there are options for rotation as well to strengthen the middle order. Warner, Finch & Taylor are options with Sammy intermittent choice. Rasool is also an all round option & will play in few games. So the SRH side is far more versatile than last year's team. Some people are commenting on Captaincy decision. Dhawan is the right choice because he led the batting last year. Also Bowling rotation & field setting are all pre determined. So a T20 Captain does not have time for much thinking on his feet except to place right guys in the catching & running positions. Improvisation & putting your best foot forward during 3 hour match wins the day for you. SRH is a strong team & will be competing for the top 4. Go SRH!

Posted by palvali on (March 26, 2014, 9:08 GMT)

This would be my 11

1. Dhawan 2. Warner 3. Finch 4. Sammy 5. Juneja/AshishReddy/KarnSharma/VenugopalRao 6. Naman Ojha 7. Irfan Pathan 8. Amit Mishra 9. Dale Steyn 10. Bhuvaneshwar Kumar 11. Ishant Sharma

Posted by   on (March 26, 2014, 6:11 GMT)

@Nampally, I thought Brendon Taylor was a WK batsman. Why does Sunrisers need another keeper in their 11? They do have Ojha anyway. Dhawan,Finch, Warner,Taylor, Juneja/Rao/KL Rahul/Ojha (depending upon their form),Pathan, Bhuvi, Rasool, Mishra, Ishant, Steyn. If anyone had told me that Ishant Sharma and Steyn would be in the same bowling unit, I would have killed him. The IPL has made the impossible happen. Sharma doesn't deserve to be where he is. The luck of being a tall Indian who fills everybody including himself about his 'PACE'! lol!

Posted by   on (March 26, 2014, 4:31 GMT)

Dhawan is a fixed member in team xi....where sammy is not fixed in team.... beacause if it is a batting pitch we need to replace sammy by BREANDON TAYLOR who is a specialist batsmen so dhawan should be captain for SRH sammy should help dhawan by giving suggestions.......

according to my view team should be

1. Shikar Dhawan [ captain ]

2. Aaron Finch

3. David warner

4. Naman Ojha [ wk ]

5. Breandon Taylor / Darrren Sammy

6. Karn sharma / Manpreet Juneja / venu gopal Rao / KL rahul

7. IRfan pathan

8. Amit mishra

9. BHuvaneshwer kumar

10. Ishant Sharma


Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
KKR v Kings XI at Bangalore - Jun 1, 2014
KKR won by 3 wickets
Super Kings v Kings XI at Mumbai - May 30, 2014
Kings XI won by 24 runs
Super Kings v Mum Indians at Mumbai (BS) - May 28, 2014
Super Kings won by 7 wickets
Kings XI v KKR at Kolkata - May 27-28, 2014
KKR won by 28 runs
Mum Indians v Royals at Mumbai - May 25, 2014
Mum Indians won by 5 wickets
Kings XI v Daredevils at Mohali - May 25, 2014
Kings XI won by 7 wickets
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days