Indian Premeir League

Pawar rules out two IPLs in a year

Cricinfo staff

May 30, 2008

Text size: A | A

Sharad Pawar, the Indian board president, has ruled out the possibility of executing Lalit Modi's idea of two IPL tournaments a year, saying the ICC calendar offers no such scope.

"We have just got one window from the ICC per year," Pawar said in a television interview. "The calendar is ready for next seven years, so there is no scope." Modi, the IPL commissioner, had earlier proposed two editions of the league from 2011.

The idea is not very popular with players as well. While Rahul Dravid, the Bangalore Royal Challengers captain, said it was a "difficult" proposition and that he would hate to see a dilution of Test cricket to fit in Twenty20 games, Virender Sehwag, the captain of the Delhi Daredevils, who have qualified for the IPL semi-finals, felt two tournaments a year may trigger premature retirements.

However IPL organisers are working with other national boards to see if a Champions League - involving the top two domestic Twenty20 teams from five countries - can be played later this year.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Players/Officials: Sharad Pawar
Series/Tournaments: Indian Premier League
Teams: India
Tournament Results
Super Kings v Royals at Mumbai - Jun 1, 2008
Royals won by 3 wickets (with 0 balls remaining)
Super Kings v Kings XI at Mumbai - May 31, 2008
Super Kings won by 9 wickets (with 31 balls remaining)
Daredevils v Royals at Mumbai - May 30, 2008
Royals won by 105 runs
Kings XI v Royals at Mohali - May 28, 2008
Kings XI won by 41 runs
RCB v Mum Indians at Bangalore - May 28, 2008
Mum Indians won by 9 wickets (with 12 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days