Ajit Agarkar and Wasim Jaffer in 15-member Mumbai squad September 28, 2007

Mohammad Kaif to lead Rest of India in Irani Trophy

Cricinfo staff

Mohammad Kaif will lead a Rest of India squad largely made up of A team regulars © AFP
Mohammad Kaif will lead a 14-member Rest of India squad for the five-day Irani Trophy match against Mumbai in Rajkot from October 6.

Ranadeb Bose and Munaf Patel, the medium-fast bowlers, have been included in a squad largely made up of India A regulars. Pankaj Singh and Ashraf Makda, who were part of the A team for the two-Test series against South Africa are the ones to miss out.

Meanwhile, Mumbai will be strengthened by the presence of Ajit Agarkar and Wasim Jaffer in their 15-member squad led by Amol Muzumdar. Agarkar, who was part of India's World Twenty20 winning team, has been named in the squad after not being picked for the first three ODIs against Australia.

Mumbai, who won the Mohammad Nissar Trophy after drawing the match with Pakistan's first-class champions Karachi Urban, have included the uncapped Dhaval Kulkarni, an allrounder who has played for India Under-19s, in their squad.

The Irani Trophy is the annual fixture, between the defending Ranji champions and a Rest of India team, which kicks off the domestic season.


Rest of India
Mohammad Kaif (capt), Parthiv Patel (wk), Aakash Chopra, Suresh Raina, Subramaniam Badrinath, Cheteshwar Pujara, Manoj Tiwary, Arjun Yadav, Pragyan Ojha, Amit Mishra, Munaf Patel, Ranadeb Bose, Ishant Sharma, Yo Mahesh

Amol Muzumdar (capt), Wasim Jaffer, Sahil Kukreja, Vinayak Mane, Ajinkya Rahane, Abhishek Nayar, Prashant Naik, Hiken Shah, Ajit Agarkar, Iqbal Abdulla, Omkar Gurav (wk), Dhaval Kulkarni, Aavishkar Salvi, Rajesh Verma, Vikrant Yeligati