Pakistan ODI probables list November 6, 2003

The end of the road for Moin and Rashid?

Wisden Cricinfo staff

Pakistan today announced their 22-man list of probables for the five-match one-day international series against New Zealand, and there was no place for veteran wicketkeepers Rashid Latif and Moin Khan, with the selectors opting for the younger Kamran Akmal.

Also missing were the spinners Saqlain Mushtaq and Mushtaq Ahmed, as well as the out-of-form batsman Younis Khan. The selected players have been told to report to the national academy on Sunday evening for a training camp.

Aamer Sohail, the chairman of selectors, said in a statement: "We have recalled Saleem Elahi as cover for Taufeeq Umar. We understand that Taufeeq has a slight niggle in his knee and therefore we don't want to risk him because of the more important assignments ahead. Nevertheless, I must appreciate the sense of responsibility and commitment of Taufeeq who conveyed to us his availability for the one-day series.

"As far as Saleem Elahi is concerned, he was never out of our consideration. Actually we were waiting for him to perform in the domestic season and I am glad that he has shown the form and fitness very early in the competition. We are also thinking on the lines that we might need an experienced opener, someone like Saleem, if we decide against selecting Taufeeq for the one-day series."

In his five innings so far in the Inter-Departmental qualifying round, Saleem Elahi scored 110, 8, 0, 65 and 80.

On Akmal's inclusion, Sohail said: "The decision to include just one wicketkeeper in Kamran Akmal is a move into the future as far as one-day cricket is concerned. He has batted very well in the domestic matches while his wicketkeeping is also good."

The first match of the series is at Faisalabad on November 22.

Probables Imran Farhat, Salman Butt, Saleem Elahi, Taufeeq Umar, Yasir Hameed, Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Yousuf Youhana, Asim Kamal, Misbah-ul-Haq, Bilal Asad, Abdul Razzaq, Azhar Mahmood, Shoaib Malik, Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Umar Gul, Shabbir Ahmed, Abdul Rauf, Mohammad Irshad, Fahad Masood, Kamran Akmal (wk), Danish Kaneria.