Zimbabwe in Pakistan 2007-08 January 11, 2008

Chingoka denies players' security at risk in Pakistan

Cricinfo staff

Zimbabwe's selectors have not sprung any surprises in their 15-man squad for the five-ODI series in Pakistan.

Ray Price and Gary Brent, who have both returned to the side after turning their backs on international cricket, are named, as is Sean Williams, whose inclusion in the side which played in South Africa last week reportedly caused a bitter dispute among the selectors who wanted another black player instead.

Meanwhile, Peter Chingoka, Zimbabwe Cricket's chairman, denied claims that his board was putting player safety second to the standing of the country within the ICC. "The players and their technical staff are all comfortable with the tour," he said. "I will accompany the team on the first leg of the tour and the vice-chairman, Tavengwa Mukuhlani, will then join the travelling party when I return on January 17 or 18. The chairman of the cricket committee, Cyprian Mandenge, will take over from Mukuhlani on January 24 and return with the team."

Critics point out that the women's World Cup qualifier has been moved from Pakistan to South Africa on safety grounds and accuse ZC of not taking the proper steps to establish the security situation in the country. Zimbabwe will be there in the build-up to the national elections in mid February when many are predicting an escalation in violence.

Zimbabwe squad Prosper Utseya (capt), Gary Brent, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Keith Dabengwa, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Chris Mpofu, Tawanda Mupariwa, Ray Price, Vusi Sibanda, Tatenda Taibu, Brendon Taylor, Sean Williams