Ranji Trophy 2010-11, Plate League, 2nd round, 1st day November 10, 2010

Hyderabad bounce back against Jharkhand

ESPNcricinfo staff

Group A

Hyderabad bounced back from their mauling against Rajasthan in dominate the first day against Jharkhand at the International Cricket Stadium Complex in Ranchi, having bowled the hosts out for 200 before ending the day at 50 for 0. Jharkhand chose to bat, but only Saurabh Tiwary (45) and Shiv Gautam (48) managed to make any impact, the pair adding 83 for the fifth wicket. It was only because the visitors conceded 40 extras that Jharkhand were even able to get to 200. Alfred Absolem, Vishal Sharma and Pagadala Naidu were among the wickets, while two dismissals came through run outs.

Deepak Chahar was among the wickets again as Rajasthan knocked over Goa for 216 at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. Chahar followed up his record-making debut with 4 for 67, and fellow new-ball bowler Pankaj Singh took 5 for 58, to give Rajasthan the upper hand. Chahar struck early once again, when he bowled Advait Katkar for 2. Pankaj then got rid of Goa captain Sagun Kamat, getting him to nick one behind for 25. The middle-order trio of Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan, Ajay Ratra and Rahul Keni all got starts, but none of them were able to extend their innings, with Keni's 40 being the best of the bunch. Vidyut and Keni fell to Pankaj, while Chahar dismissed Ratra, as Goa slipped to 141 for 5 and then 183 for 9. It took a 33-run partnership for the last wicket between Robin D'Souza and Harshad Gadekar to carry them past 200. In reply, Rajasthan were 48 for the loss of Aakash Chopra's early wicket.

Tripura laboured to 218 for 6 against Madhya Pradesh at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore. Yogesh Takawale faced 18 deliveries before departing without scoring to leave Tripura 0 for 1. Rajib Saha and Biswajit Dey then took the score to 70 before Dey was dismissed by seamer Devendra Bundela. Saha completed his half-century but was snapped up soon after by Bundela for a well-made 53. Rajesh Banik and Nishit Shetty then added 52 before Shetty's departure triggered a mini-collapse in which Tripura lost three wickets for 27 runs. Captain Rajib Dutta and Timir Chandra then played out the rest of the rest of the day, putting on 44 together. Bundela was the pick of the bowlers, taking 3 for 31 from 16.5 overs.

Group B

Kerala's bowlers ran through Jammu & Kashmir, bundling them out for 173, and vindicating their decision to bowl first at the Perintalmanna Cricket Stadium in Malappuram. Prasanth Parameswaran did the early damage, removing Ian Dev Singh and Arshad Bhatt, both of whom failed to trouble the scorers, to reduce the visitors to 4 for 2. A 66-run partnership between Asif Jeelani and Javed Ahmad steadied the innings somewhat, but three quick wickets had J&K reeling at 80 for 5. Wickets continued to fall at regular intervals, and it took a 44-run stand between Abid Nabi and No. 10 Sameer Khajuria to take the visitors to 173. Parameswaran was the most successful bowler, taking 4 for 55. In reply, Kerala had moved to 19 for 0 by stumps.

Suraj Yadav's second career five-wicket haul helped Services bowl Andhra Pradesh out for 223 at the Rural Development Trust Stadium in Anantapur. The visitors won the toss and chose to field, and Yadav struck early, bowling Prasad Reddy for 15. Hemal Watekar and Satyakumar Varma took AP to 81 before Amrinder Singh dismissed Watekar for 48 from 77 balls, with seven fours. Varma was the next to go, caught off the bowling of Nishan Singh for 33. Five overs later, Yadav took two wickets in two balls, to leave AP struggling at 131 for 5, and the home side needed a 49-run stand between Manoj Sai and AG Pradeep for the seventh-wicket to give their score some degree of respectability. At stumps, Services were 23 for 1, having lost Pratik Desai for a duck.

Only 13 overs were possible in the game between Maharashtra and Vidarbha at the Golf Club Ground, but it was enough time for the hosts to reduce Vidharba to 42 for 3. Shrikant Mundhe caught opposing captain Akshay Kolhar (0) in front of the stumps before Samad Fallah had Amit Paunikar caught for 12. Mundhe picked up the victim of Amit Deshpande (6) as well, to leave the vistors stuttering at 24 for 3, before Alind Naidu and Azhar Sheikh shepherded them to stumps.