Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2010-11, 2nd day October 15, 2010

Tamil Nadu defend modest total against Goa

ESPNcricinfo staff

Tamil Nadu's bowlers successfully defended a modest total, dismissing Goa for 108 after their batsmen had earlier managed 127 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

Swapnil Asnodkar had given Goa a good start, and at 57 for 1 in the tenth over, they were in control. However, S Vidyut was stumped by Dinesh Karthik, and Abhinav Mukund then took two wickets with the first two deliveries of his only over to reduce Goa to 57 for 4. Fast bowler Yo Mahesh ran through the lower order, taking 4 for 23 as Goa collapsed to lose by 19 runs.

Tamil Nadu had earlier suffered a similar mid-innings stutter, stumbling to 69 for 4 from 59 for 1, left-arm spinner Sher Yadav taking 3 for 15. However, S Badrinath took his side to a reasonable score, which ultimately proved beyond Goa.

Mayank Agarwal and Ganesh Satish took Karnataka to a six-wicket victory against Andhra at the Gymkhana Ground after their bowlers had kept Andhra down to 143.

Venugopal Rao made 58 off 41 deliveries after Andhra had lost their openers cheaply to B Akhil. However, Rao's run out in the late stages of the innings hurt Andhra.

Manish Pandey fell in the first over of the Karnataka innings, but Agarwal - who was the top run-scorer in the recent Karnataka Premier League - and Satish added 95 runs in 66 deliveries to set up the chase. Agarwal was the more aggressive of the two, smashing four sixes and as many fours in his 57 off 31 balls. Satish anchored the innings with his 52 off 48.

An unbeaten half-century from captain Raiphi Gomez led Kerala to an emphatic eight-wicket win against Hyderabad at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, as they made short work of the target of 149.

Coming in after Abhishek Hegde had fallen early, Gomez added an unbeaten 94 runs in 78 deliveries for the third wicket with Robert Fernandez. Hyderabad used seven bowlers but to no avail, as Kerala cantered to victory with eight balls to spare.

Left-arm spinner P Prasanth's 2 for 17 had earlier restricted Hyderabad to 148 for 5. The first three Hyderabad batsmen scored thirties but none went on to play a big knock.