Wayamba v Kandurata, SLPL 2012, Colombo

Kandurata hold nerve to win thriller

The Report by Andrew Fernando

August 24, 2012

Comments: 12 | Text size: A | A

Kandurata Warriors 149 for 8 (Lynn 80, Hafeez 2-14) beat Wayamba United 147 for 6 (Razzaq 36*, Hafeez 34, Lokuarachchi 3-15) by two runs
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Kandurata Warriors' Chris Lynn scored 80, Wayamba v Kandurata, SLPL, Colombo, August 24, 2012
Chris Lynn smashed 80 off 51 balls to help Kandurata Warriors reach a competitive total © Ron Gaunt/SPORTZPICS/SLPL
Related Links

The Kandurata Warriors eked out a tense two-run win against Wayamba United to put one foot into the semi-finals of the SLPL, defending a total of 149 for 8 that had largely been the work of Australian Chris Lynn. The Warriors lost wickets early, and continued to be pegged back towards the end, but Lynn's 80 from 51 deliveries carried his side to a competitive total, despite his team-mates managing only 57 from 69 balls between them.

Wayamba United were without their captain Mahela Jayawardene and their best bowler Akila Dananjaya, who were both rested with a semi-finals berth secured, and perhaps that was the difference for a team that had looked undefeatable in its first four matches. Abdul Razzak tried valiantly to haul in the Warriors total with a late 18-ball 36, but could not score the 15 runs required from Sohail Tanvir's final over to extend his side's winning streak.

The Warriors had stumbled to an abysmal start, with Sanath Jayasuriya having run Thilan Samaraweera out before losing his own wicket, before Lynn arrived at the crease at 14 for 3. He rebuilt steadily at first, aggressing only when the bad balls came, as he and Jeevantha Kulatunga set about lifting the Warriors out of the mire. The pair made 64 runs from 49 balls for the fourth wicket, but with the score moving at only around 6.5 runs an over, the Warriors looked set for a mediocre total, particularly when Thisara Perera, their batsman of the tournament so far, fell soon after Kulatunga had departed.

Lynn, though, continued to prosper without fuss, plugging away into an outfield slowed by heavy overnight rain, to collect the singles and twos. Having progressed to 41 from 36, he exploded in the 16th over. A six off Milinda Siriwardene over midwicket began the charge, before he hit a straight six and an improvised four to fine leg off Isuru Udana's next over. Bradd Hogg then disappeared for 16 too, but Lynn finally miscued one in the penultimate over, with his side knocking on a total of 150.

Tanvir should have had Kamran Akmal out twice in the first over, but an lbw shout that appeared to be plumb was denied, before Thisara Perera dropped a sitter in the in-field off a leading edge. He eventually got his man, off another leading edge at third man. And thanks to miserly support from John Hastings and Perera from the other end, the Warriors were able to deny Wayamba United the rapid starts they had achieved so far in the SLPL.

Kaushal Lokuarachchi's spell of 3 for 15 in the middle period then ensured the asking rate continued to climb. Mohammad Hafeez was caught in front attempting a reverse-sweep, before Shehan Jayasuriya and Dinesh Chandimal both gave easy catches soon after - though in Chandimal's case, he had already had two lives before his eventual dismissal.

Razzak and Siriwardene made 17 from the penultimate over to set up the first truly tight finish of the tournament. But with six runs required off the last ball to tie the match, Razzak could only manage four.

Andrew Fernando is ESPNcricinfo's correspondent in Sri Lanka

RSS Feeds: Andrew Fidel Fernando

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by JayJ404 on (August 25, 2012, 8:53 GMT)

Even this Chandimal is inform he can not clear the lines... I'm very sure Munaweera will perform better than Dilshan.... because he doesn't have attitude of playing just to stay in the team Thirmanna, Tharanga & Chandimal are playing to stay in the team they know at the end of the day what matters is average... They don't care about the country...

Posted by   on (August 25, 2012, 8:52 GMT)

i saw atleast 10 players better than chandimal

Posted by   on (August 25, 2012, 8:50 GMT)

yeah reason is Jaysuriya's best Captaincy

Posted by ms2000 on (August 25, 2012, 7:48 GMT)

Chamdimal should surely be dropped from the WC T20 and that place must be given to one of the many youngsters performing so well. Chandimal will be one of the reasons for SL to loose the T20 games . He is out of form, leave him out this time

Posted by   on (August 25, 2012, 4:41 GMT)

Sanath's captancy is da reason....

Posted by   on (August 25, 2012, 3:42 GMT)

Kandurata were cheated,Wayamba played without their most of key players,chandimal shoud be dropped from the T20WC squad , if not we will lose it badly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! akila should not be exposed early, he will do a lot of damage for many countries!

Posted by S-A-M-1994 on (August 25, 2012, 3:22 GMT)

Razzaq's didnt take double runs at crucial moments,he could have won game easily for waymba,c'mon razzaq dont do this in WC

Posted by   on (August 24, 2012, 23:20 GMT)

Where, tamim? They lost because he wasnt playing lol

Posted by   on (August 24, 2012, 22:06 GMT)

Abdul Razzaq stands not out & still his team loses .. :((( really bad day for hin :-//

Posted by   on (August 24, 2012, 20:24 GMT)

I am really impressed with Shehan Jayasuriya's approach...why he was not given a single over to bowl??? Shehan shows a lot of courage and he will be one of the best in future....I am a little worried about Chandimal

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Andrew Fidel FernandoClose
Tournament Results
Uva Next v Nagenahira at Colombo (RPS) - Aug 31, 2012
Uva Next won by 19 runs (D/L method)
Nagenahira v K Warriors at Colombo (RPS) - Aug 29, 2012
Match abandoned without a ball bowled
Wayamba U v Uva Next at Colombo (RPS) - Aug 28, 2012
Uva Next won by 20 runs
Uva Next v Nagenahira at Colombo (RPS) - Aug 27, 2012
Nagenahira won by 6 wickets (with 5 balls remaining)
Ruhuna Ryls v Wayamba U at Colombo (RPS) - Aug 26, 2012
Wayamba U won by 14 runs
Nagenahira v Uthura at Colombo (RPS) - Aug 26, 2012
Uthura won by 15 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days