Sri Lanka news May 26, 2010

Aravinda de Silva takes over as chief selector


Former Sri Lankan captain Aravinda de Silva has been named chairman of a new four-member national selection committee by sports minister Chandrasiri Bandara Ratnayake on Wednesday.

The other members of the committee are Ranjith Fernando, Amal Silva and Shabbir Asgerally. All four members have served in the capacity as selectors in previous committees.

The new panel replaces the one headed by Ashantha de Mel and also included Don Anurasiri, Vinothen John and Chaminda Mendis. de Mel and Anurasiri have been selectors for the past four years.

de Silva, 44, is best remembered for playing the key role in his country winning their only World Cup in 1996 when he scored a century in the final against Australia at Lahore. He was Sri Lanka's foremost batsman for almost two decades since making his Test debut at Lord's against England in 1984. He represented Sri Lanka in 93 Tests and 308 ODIs, and was till recently consultant coach to the Sri Lanka Under-19s World Cup team.

Fernando, a former wicketkeeper-batsman, played for Sri Lanka in the inaugural World Cup in 1975 and has served in various administrative capacities and managed several national teams. He is currently manager of the Sri Lanka's A team which is due to tour Australia next month.

Silva, a left-hand bat and wicketkeeper played for Sri Lanka in the eighties in eight Tests and 20 ODIs. Asgerally is the only member who has not played for his country but was a prolific opening batsman and wicket-keeper for Bloomfield on the domestic circuit.

The new selection committee's main priority would be to pick a team to win the World Cup which will be hosted by Sri Lanka, India and Bangladesh in February-March next year. The last occasion Sri Lanka won the World Cup was when it was held in the subcontinent.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Lakmal on June 2, 2010, 7:23 GMT

    Wow..thanx god.Finall the correct man has entered to the scene.ASHANTHA DE MEL ,the blood bull(who is jealous of chaminda vaas,boz he could not be such a legend),can not do a proper job.he is a maniac.Former Minster sir LOKUGE is another bull!.Please ARA,remove MP old sana . All the best!!!

  • Ajith on June 2, 2010, 6:24 GMT

    Good to have a change in selectors although it is a thankless job.It will be wise to confine the term of the selection committee to a maximum of 2 years so that they do not get into a slumber and only enjoy the perks offered by the Cricket Board.Let's hope that they pick the right squad for each category of matches instead of rotating the same team over and over again.The players too have to show more responsibility and commitment when they represent Sri Lanka.After all they have contractual obligations which should be matched by performance. The only concern is that 3 of the selectors are from 1 club in Colombo and we hope that they will ensure fairness in team selections . It'a pity that the New Sports Minister was unable to find a set of selectors who represent Clubs, Associations,Districts and Provinces which would have been more transparent especially when he has dubbed the Cricket board as the 3 rd most corrupt organizaton in Sri Lanka.We wish Aravinda and his team Good Luck .

  • Sriram on May 31, 2010, 11:02 GMT

    In India an MP can conitune to hold his post and act in Bollywood, reality shows et all, looks like in SriLanka its the same, you can be an MP but keep playing domestic,county, international ciricket..We must be the greatest Democracies in the world.

  • Dummy4 on May 31, 2010, 10:17 GMT

    i don't know that this is good move or bad move but i think this is a positive move. because Aravinda & group have to prove by selecting capable players not by press conferences.Politics should not involve in player selection so Mr Aravinda please be honest when you select our team

  • Partha on May 31, 2010, 9:27 GMT

    It couldn't be better Aravinda de Silva becoming the chair man of selector. I think this will only en reach Srilankan cricket. During his playing time he was second to none when it came to srilankan batting. He was one of the best bats men in the world in his playing time. Best bats man of srilanka. May be only Sanath, mahela and sangakara can come close to him. However, hope how he contributed Srilanka in winning the 1996 world cup by his batting, bowling and fielding, he will contribute srilanka to win another world cup by making proper selection. My only advise to him peak players on the basis of form rather than age or reputation. End of the day its the form that counts everything else is useless. So if vass or sanath is in good form that time they can be peaked. If kapugedera or chandrimal arent in good form they shouldnt peak just because they are young. Best of luck to one of my most favoutite players ` Aravinda '.

  • John on May 30, 2010, 17:38 GMT

    hello Dhushan,

    i dont know the other players , but i saw sevral innings played by Indika seram, he is good for domestic matches, how many times he came to ICC matchers and he spolied the match, he can't play in ICC matches well, also Kulatunga also not a power full hitter.

    we need a powerful hitting batsmans, like kapugedara,Angelo mathwes,Jayasinghe,tisara perera,

  • John on May 30, 2010, 17:34 GMT

    Good luck Aravinda ,

    please select the 50ODI & twenty20 team that i given below, hense dont select the blowlers who coudn't bat well,

    01. Upul Taranga 02. TM Dilshan 03. Tisara Perera 04. Kumar Sangakara 05. Mahela Jayawardena 06. Angelo Mathwes 07. Chamara Kapugedara 08. Dinesh chandimal 09. Suraj Randiv 10. Nuwan Kulasekara 11. Tilina Thushara 12. Mendis

    Test team, 01. Warnapura 02. Mahela Jayawardena 03. kumar Sangakara 04. Tilan Samaraweera 05. Angelo Mathwes 06. TM Dilshan 07. Dinesh Chandimal 08. Nuwan kulasekara 09. Tilan thushara 10. Suraj Randiv 11. Muttai Muralidaran 12. Mendis

  • Dummy4 on May 30, 2010, 13:57 GMT

    look players like saram, munaweera ,jeevanta kulatunga these players are really suit for 50 overs and t20 format but unfortunatly kulatunga and saram subject to injustic due to poor selecter ashanta but ihope and 100 percent sure new selstion pannelwill remove sj and confirm good young bastmans like munaweera ,kulatunga, lokuhettige,saram, janaka gunarattne, jeewanmendis specially kulatunga and vaas

  • Dhushan on May 30, 2010, 6:29 GMT

    Thank you Mr. Sports Minister for sending away Ashantha De Mel. Sri Lanlka cricket suffered too much under that man. I am full of sorrow for Sri Lanka losing a great cricketer in Marvan Atapattu. I hope that with this new selection committee Chaminda Vaas will atleast have a chance to play for Sri Lanka again. Good luck Aravinda & Co. Let's start well for the World Cup next year.

  • Rici on May 29, 2010, 19:30 GMT



  • No featured comments at the moment.