Sri Lanka news May 10, 2012

SLPL to be played in Colombo, Pallekele

ESPNcricinfo staff

The inaugural edition of the Sri Lanka Premier League (SLPL) will be played from August 10 to 31, Sri Lanka Cricket has confirmed. The tournament will feature seven provincial teams, and be played at two venues - the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo and the Pallekele International Stadium.

Each team will be allowed a maximum of six overseas players in their squads and four in their playing XI, SLC said in a release. Also, it will be necessary for each team to field a local under-21 player in every game. The SLC will name icons, from among the national players, for each team shortly. The teams' branding will based on the unique features of the province they represent.

SLC had signed a new deal with Somerset Entertainment Ventures to hold the league on May 5, ESPNcricinfo had learned earlier. Initially, the SLPL was supposed to kick off last year, with SLC's then interim committee signing a five-year deal with Somerset Entertainment Ventures to organise the event. However, the Sri Lankan board was forced to postpone the tournament after the BCCI refused to allow its players to participate at the last minute, causing a delay in the naming of the final composition of the teams and affecting overall preparations for the event. In addition, the interim committee that signed the deal was subsequently replaced and there was criticism of some of the clauses in the contract by the parliamentary Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE), prompting a new deal to be drawn up.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on May 14, 2012, 0:02 GMT

    Okay, until now I thought the IPL names were stupid.. And for Kandurata, why not call it Kandyans. while not creative at least its not any worse than Mumbai Indians.

  • Vincent on May 13, 2012, 21:59 GMT

    Err...thanks to the Gypsies I remembered another one..Hoa about Kandurate Kurumitoes?

  • Mihil on May 13, 2012, 14:16 GMT

    @Vikas_USIT "Why this infatuation with alliteration?" Funny!! Couldn't agree more. Let's just say our cricket establishment is not headed by greatest of minds!!!

  • Vincent on May 13, 2012, 13:50 GMT

    How about Kandurata Kings? Kandurata Kollo's? Then again how about Northern Tigers, Southern Lions, Central Corruptors, Keeping up with Indians etc. Yes I agree with most people that this is just going to end in tragedy if its not managed well and no rest for the ususual players. Yet it could be used to get many of the outstation boys to be really interested in cricket (not monet or fame) and to be competitive and work hard. Again it is upto the organisers to see if they bring anything good or play to those who want to make a quick buck.

  • Sai on May 12, 2012, 14:25 GMT

    Kandurata Kites?!?! LOL even I wouldn't have thought of such a stupid name for a team, they should change it or else the SLPL could (and probably will) be a huge flop.

  • sudharaka on May 12, 2012, 10:06 GMT

    must change logos & names of the leagues! Need to have a separate web site for SLPL

  • Dummy4 on May 12, 2012, 8:47 GMT

    Good chance for the youngsters to perform with international players..

  • Dummy4 on May 12, 2012, 1:29 GMT

    I think the names are except 4 the central province (Kadurata).....bettr changin it!!!!!!!

  • Dummy4 on May 11, 2012, 16:53 GMT

    For everyone's information I think there's only one reason behind naming these sides, in fact I strongly believe this should be the reason so as to name sides in a funny way to put it simplistic. It's coming from high-authority and you can see there are core-relation between names in SLPL and Carlton Rugby 7's. If you know what I mean. Anyway this is going to be the joke of the year "Nagenahira Nagas" you got to be kidding me. Or may be the biggest joke in the history of the game of Cricket. Well done SLCB and good luck or I forgot, please don't stay without paying for players after August.

  • Dummy4 on May 11, 2012, 11:57 GMT

    Ashwin sharma. Correction. First ICL not IPL

  • No featured comments at the moment.