Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2011-12, 3rd match day October 18, 2011

Uthappa fashions easy Karnataka win

ESPNcricinfo staff

Karnataka registered an impressive eight-wicket win against Tamil Nadu at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, on day two of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2011-12, to go to the top of the South Zone points table. Tamil Nadu's Dinesh Karthik scored a quick 52 with four fours and three sixes, and K Vasudevadas provided the innings some late momentum with 30 off 18. However, none of the other batsmen could go past 14 as the hosts managed only 131 for 9 on the relaid Chepauk pitch. Stuart Binny was Karnataka's best bowler, claiming three wickets and conceding only 14 runs. Robin Uthappa then celebrated his return to the national Twenty20 team with 59 off 29 balls, ensuring Karnataka cruised in the chase. Bharat Chipli and Ganesh Satish built on the fine start with a half-century stand, and finished the match in the 17th over.

The Andra Pradesh-Kerala match at the TI Cycles Ground was washed-out after only 3.1 overs. The teams get two points apiece.

DB Ravi Teja continued his impressive form in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and his 68 off 49 balls led Hyderabad to a nine-wicket win against Goa in Chennai. Chasing 131, Ravi Teja and T Suman, who made 45 off 38 balls, added 103 in 13 overs before Suman was dismissed. Ravi Teja, however, remained unbeaten when the winning runs were scored in 17.2 overs. A combined effort from Hyderabad's bowlers - all six took at least a wicket - had dismissed Goa for 130 to help set up the victory. Abhishek Raut top scored with 31 and was one of only two batsmen to make more than 20. Syed Quadri took 3 for 25 for Hyderabad.