ICC World Cricket League Division One

Trent Johnston leads team of the tournament

Cricinfo staff

July 11, 2010

Text size: A | A

Ireland have been rewarded for their successful WCL Division 1 defence by having four of their players named in the team of the tournament.

Ireland defeated Scotland by six wickets to seal the title on Saturday and their leader, Trent Johnston, was chosen as captain of the combined squad. Paul Stirling, Kevin O'Brien, and George Dockrell, the 17-year-old left-arm spinner, were the other members of Ireland's team chosen. Mark Jonkman, the Netherlands paceman, was also included despite being reported for a suspect bowling bowling action.

The side was chosen by a panel of experts that included Adrian Griffith, the former West Indies batsman, and Kumar Dharmasena, the Sri Lankan off-spinner who featured in the 1996 World Cup winning side.

Team of the tournament 1 Paul Stirling (Ireland), 2 Ashish Bagai (Canada) (wicketkeeper), 3 Tom Cooper (Netherlands), 4 Nawroz Mangal (Afghanistan), 5 Kevin O'Brien (Ireland), 6 Neil McCallum (Scotland),7 Thomas Odoyo (Kenya), 8 Samiullah Shenwari (Afghanistan), 9 Trent Johnston (Ireland) (captain), 10 George Dockrell (Ireland), 11 Mark Jonkman (Netherlands), 12th man Gordon Drummond (Scotland).

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Canada v Kenya at Schiedam - Jul 10, 2010
Canada won by 3 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)
Ireland v Scotland at Amstelveen - Jul 10, 2010
Ireland won by 6 wickets (with 31 balls remaining)
Netherlands v Afghanistan at Rotterdam - Jul 10, 2010
Afghanistan won by 5 wickets (with 24 balls remaining)
Afghanistan v Scotland at Rotterdam - Jul 9, 2010
Scotland won by 2 wickets (with 37 balls remaining)
Canada v Kenya at Schiedam - Jul 9, 2010
Canada won by 6 wickets (with 85 balls remaining)
Netherlands v Ireland at Amstelveen - Jul 9, 2010
Ireland won by 39 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days