Trinidad and Tobago news November 1, 2009

Azim Bassarath appointed Trinidad board president

Cricinfo staff

Azim Bassarath has been appointed the new president of the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB), replacing the former West Indies wicketkeeper Deryck Murray. Bassarath, who heads the "Movement for Change" group, defeated Murray's "Friends of Cricket" group with 26 votes to 23 at the board's annual general meeting at the National Cricket Centre in Balmain, Couva.

Dudnath Ramkessoon was appointed first vice-president while Arjoon Ramlal replaced Forbes Persaud as the secretary.

In his address, Bassarath promised a closer working relationship with all stakeholders, including the Tobago Zone and the Women's Cricket Board. He added that his aim would be to ensure a healthy relationship with the West Indies Cricket Board and also had words of consolation for Murray.

"To our immediate past president (Murray), history will recognise you for your leadership over the years 2005-07, an era in which the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board saw many successes," Bassarath said. "No election will ever take away from you your international career or your reputation and my administration offers you the olive branch."

Trinidad and Tobago, led by Daren Ganga, performed creditably in the recent Champions Twenty20 League, remaining unbeaten till the final, which they lost to New South Wales.