West Indies news July 5, 2013

Samuels named Overall Player of the Year by WICB

ESPNcricinfo staff

Allrounder Marlon Samuels was voted West Indies' Overall and ODI player of the year for 2012 at an awards function hosted by the WICB and the West Indies Players Association in Trinidad on Thursday. Shivnarine Chanderpaul was recognised as Test Player of the Year. Stefanie Taylor, 22, was adjudged Women's Cricketer of the Year.

During the event, WICB president Dave Cameron also presented commemorative gold rings to the 15 players and eight-member management that won the World T20 in Sri Lanka last October.

After a Watson-blitz and rain helped Australia get the better of them, and a comprehensive nine-wicket loss to Sri Lanka, West Indies regrouped to steal a thrilling Super-Over victory against New Zealand to book their place in the final four. Chris Gayle powered West Indies past Australia in the semi-final and Marlon Samuels followed a vital half-century against Sri Lanka in the final, during which he clobbered Lasith Malinga for 39 runs in 11 balls, with a spell of 4-0-15-1 to lead West Indies to victory.

"This is a truly special honour - one that all of us will cherish. On behalf of the team I want to say 'thank you' to everyone who came up with this idea and all those who made it possible," said Darren Sammy, who captained West Indies to their first world title triumph since the Champions Trophy in 2004. "We played an amazing brand of cricket to win over in Sri Lanka; to win the trophy for our people. Now it feels really great to be honoured, in this way, here at home."

Spinner Sunil Narine bagged two awards, the T20 Player of the Year and Regional Limited-Overs Player of the Year. Kieran Powell, who has three centuries in 15 Tests, was voted Emerging Player of the Year. Jamaica won the First-Class Team of the Year award and one of their players, left-arm spinner Nikita Miller was the First-class Player of the Year. Barbados won the Under-19 Team of the Year and Jeremy Solozano of Trinidad & Tobago claimed the award for Under-19 Player of the Year. Left-arm seamer Krishmar Santokie was named the Caribbean T20 Player of the year.

Former West Indies wicketkeeper Jackie Hendriks, who also served as president of the Jamaica Cricket Association and director of the WICB, was given the inaugural WICB Lifetime Achievement Award, while the WIPA counterpart went to Winston Reid, who collected 205 wickets for Barbados in a career spanning 15 years.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Carl on July 7, 2013, 10:56 GMT

    Marlon Samuels deserves this, his attitude and application have been fantastic since his return to the team. One often worried that he may fade into the Carl Hooper memory bank, players with undoubted talent but somehow lacking the vital ability to step it up when needed most. However, Samuels have stepped up to the plate - and served us a treat. Let us hope that he can continue, along with Gayle and Chanderpaul, in leading the younger promising players such as Powell and Bravo into the next era. The selectors need to blood Delorn Johnson and Miguel Cummins in the test team soon - for these two show genuine promise. Roach and Best need support, and these youngsters have a fine combination of pace, height, aggression and, in Johnson's case - a left arm angle. All tools to add to the box.

  • Dummy4 on July 6, 2013, 7:45 GMT

    its good to honour players,good job wicb

  • Android on July 6, 2013, 6:32 GMT

    WI how will you beat pakiatan

    We have a strong team and steong tactics

  • No featured comments at the moment.